Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.17.0 (build 3184) - 23 May 2022

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refresh

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

Synewave
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon 25 Jan 2010 1:55 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Raspian
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by Synewave »

captzero wrote:Hi Guys,

I need some help with some conversions & calculations and the <span> tags.
Previously, I was running some js to convert and display wind speed km/h to knots (for fishing buddies) easily enough. The old script was:

<script type="text/javascript">
var speed = "<#wlatest>";
var speedknots = Math.abs(speed*0.54*10)/10;
document.write(speedknots.toFixed(1));
</script>&nbsp;kts

I have been able to get the do a similar thing using the realtimereader.js by using:

var spknots = rawdata[6];
$("#speedknots").html(Math.abs(spknots*0.54*10)/10);

and the span tag is <span id="speedknots"></span>

However, this will give 1.6 km/h as 0.8640000000000001 knots.

How am I able to display with 1 decimal point, ie, as 0.8 knots. Am I close or way off the mark here?

I have tried several variants but it usually breaks the javascript.

Thanks in advance.
Dan,

Based on the script you quoted above that worked, try this in the realtimereader.js

Code: Select all

var spknots = rawdata[6];
var speedknots = Math.abs(spknots*0.54*10)/10;
var speedknots = speedknots.toFixed(1);
$("#speedknots").html(speedknots);
Untested, but logically should work based on your original.
The <span id="speedknots"></span> stays the same in your HTML.
captzero
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 03 Mar 2010 10:20 am
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by captzero »

Synewave wrote:Untested, but logically should work
Works like a dream. Thanks Paul.

I knew I had to add .toFixed(1) somewhere.

And, thanks for the quick reply too.
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10008
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by mcrossley »

Why Math.abs() are you expecting it to go negative?

Math.round(spknots*0.54*10)/10
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10008
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by mcrossley »

Second thoughts, as you are using .toFixed() - required for those pesky n.0 values - then all you need is:


var speedknots = rawdata[6]*0.54;
speedknots = speedknots.toFixed(1);
$("#speedknots").html(speedknots);
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by beteljuice »

Or as a one-liner

$("#speedknots").html((rawdata[6]*054).toFixed(1));

:lol: but not so easy on the mind or the eye :shock:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
Andy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue 07 Sep 2010 12:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Hawkenbury, Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by Andy »

Synewave wrote:It seems many want their index page to automatically refresh without having to press F5. Any many don't want to get into the realms of changing their site to use the PHP methods available in the forum.

Here is a simple way to achieve this using Javascript that will refresh the weather data on your index page automatically every 15 seconds. It works by reading the data from your realtime.txt file (providing you already have Cumulus set to upload that).
Paul,
Thanks - I had been after an auto update process.
Last edited by daj on Fri 18 Mar 2011 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fixed 'quoting' issue
Andy


Image
rayauger
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011 9:36 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Window 7.0
Location: Canada

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by rayauger »

Hello everybody,

Hope someone can help me.

Installed Paul's autorefresh and did some modification but then sometime after the update I am getting garbage as shown on the attached picture. Then a manual refresh or if you wait for the next refresh, it will display OK.

Any idea what could be the problem?

if you want to see the page here is the link

http://pages.videotron.com/meteo/yvan

thanks for your help

Yvan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10008
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by mcrossley »

It looks like the fetch of the data actually got a Error 404 page rather than the data. I put some code in my autorefresh to check the contents of the returned data before trying to use in.
TgT
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 26 Jun 2008 5:51 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
Operating System: A20 TV box + CumulusMX
Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by TgT »

Good script :clap:

What about some flashcolor for changed data? :oops:
Image
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10008
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by mcrossley »

TgT wrote:Good script :clap:

What about some flashcolor for changed data? :oops:
I have done that on my 'now' page. You need to store all the values, then on the next refresh compare new with old. If different set a 'newValue' style to change the colour. Then at the end of the update routine overwrite the 'old' values with the new and set a 'setTimout()' to call another function after say 10 seconds the clears the new value styles.

--sent from my phone
elmdcw
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2011 9:45 am
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: W7
Location: Ruislip

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by elmdcw »

mcrossley wrote:
TgT wrote:Good script :clap:

What about some flashcolor for changed data? :oops:
I have done that on my 'now' page. You need to store all the values, then on the next refresh compare new with old. If different set a 'newValue' style to change the colour. Then at the end of the update routine overwrite the 'old' values with the new and set a 'setTimout()' to call another function after say 10 seconds the clears the new value styles.

--sent from my phone
Hi Mark,
Brilliant ! That's exactly what I was looking to do. Is this all done via js? or does it need PHP or anything else?

Dave
http://www.weather.btinternet.co.uk/
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10008
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by mcrossley »

Well my version is all in client-side JavaScript. Pretty straightforward stuff, have a look at the code and copy/adapt it to your needs.
elmdcw
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2011 9:45 am
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: W7
Location: Ruislip

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by elmdcw »

Hi,

I noticed that daj had done something similar so checked that out and got it working.
See http://www.weather.btinternet.co.uk/tes ... altime.htm
The only problem is that the refresh doesn't work in IE9, not even in comptibility mode. Chrome is fine.
Anyone got any ideas?
Cheers
Dave
http://www.weather.btinternet.co.uk
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10008
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by mcrossley »

It seems to be working now Dave?
elmdcw
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2011 9:45 am
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: W7
Location: Ruislip

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Post by elmdcw »

Yep. I missed a bracket! Thanks

Dave
Post Reply