Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4018) - 28 March 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

A few brave testers wanted please

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

@paulmy

Link please - everything I try either times out or gives "forbidden - 403"

- suggest you make a duplicate (renamed) page for testing if you haven't do so already.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by PaulMy »

I am trying it on my www.komokaweather.com/weather
sun_banner.php and sun_button.php are in www.kokokaweather.com/astronomy

I'll see if I can set up a separate test page in the morning.

Thanks,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

@ paulmy

astronomy = Server not found

asronomy/ = You don't have permission to access /astronomy/ on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

weather:
Dawn / Dusk Created Through Courtesy the beteljuice
WOW - That's a pretty heavy responsibility :lol:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by PaulMy »

:oops: typo s/b www.komokaweather.com/astronomy/sun_banner.php sorry
And www.komokaweather.com/astronomy/sun_button.php

Only files related to the sun test are in the /astronomy folder
the www.komokaweather.com/weather page calls that sun_banner and sun_button but now gives a dead icon image

Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

Aha - :idea: a light goes on !!!!

A couple of things:

Code: Select all

		 function update(){
			 var popnow = Date.now();
			 $("#popup").attr('src', 'sun_banner.php?'+popnow);
			 $("#sun").attr('src', 'sun_button.php?'+popnow);
		 }
	 </script>
	 <!-- end beteljuice fun stuff -->
You have just told me the 'images' are in ../astronomy so change the update locations.

Next: html .....

Code: Select all

<td>
	<span style="width: 400px; height: 200px; margin: 5px; border:0">
		<div id = "beteljuice_stuff">
			<img src = "../astronomy/sun_button.php" id = 'sun' />
			<div id = "sun_pop" class = " sun_pop_out off ">
				<img src = "../astronomy/sun_banner.php" id = 'popup' />
			</div>
		</div>
	</span>
</td>
You have quoted a <span> with width and height - <span> does NOT accept width or height declarations ! - Plus it shouldn't be there, why have you tried to reserve space the size of the 'banner' when the only thing visually in that space is the 'button'. If you need to set width, do it in <td style="width: ??px;">

Also you have asked for the 'banner' to be center-left, that might go off your screen ?

Hopefully those changes will get you something you can see !
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by PaulMy »

Hopefully those changes will get you something you can see !
This is more than a brave test, it is a learning lesson as well ;) thank you :clap:

Yes I've got the sun plot back, and I think a popup but as you suggested I can't see it http://www.komokaweather.com/weather/

I'll play a bit more with the display coding when I return from driving in our unwelcome November snow... https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-statio ... apnJSnm5m3

p.s. I'm good as anyone in cut and paste, trial and error and following point by point instruction, but when it comes to remembering and visualizing... :bash:

Thanks again, and enjoying
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
Mapantz
Posts: 1777
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by Mapantz »

Hi beteljuice

I changed up the background colour on mine, to match in with my website. However, as soon as I changed the background colour, the padding between dawn/sunrise/sunset/dusk became large. I put it all back to default to check to see if I had done something, but it was literally changing the background colour that did it.

I have kept it as it is and just removed the word 'Legend' so that it doesn't cover anything up.

I just wondered where I needed to change the padding in those?

https://warehamwx.co.uk/sun_banner.php

Best.
Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

@ everyone - Mapantz is talking about getting 'down and dirty' in the sun_banner.php code !

The sun_banner.php is essentially the work of Jeremy Dyde, building the text around the sun_button code and using math to try and fit things by changing font size in certain areas. - the mods to insert event times has removed most of the functionality of the original.
However, as soon as I changed the background colour ...
No .. It was as soon as you changed the font style.
I have kept it as it is and just ...
Not true, you changed the font and have reduced the height (width) of the 'hours' around the outside of the button, so you modified the padding, that didn't work so you modified some of the math and ignored statements like

Code: Select all

// ******* EXPERIMENT - output event times ***********
// NO ACCOUNT for options has been made !!!!!!!
imagettftext ( $img , $szFont-4 , 0 , 32 , 160 , $black , $lTextFont  , $dawnStartTxt."\n\r".$sunRiseTxt."\n\r".$sunSetTxt."\n\r".$duskEndTxt );
// *** END
and indeed that is where your problem lay, the line breaks for your font style are deeper than the original - you're on your own :roll:

The beteljuice relents - only because you reinforced something that BCJKiwi tried to tell me (I've put the references to the fonts directory in the place), and I actually like the font your are using !!!

Here is your version without any tweaking of padding / math, etc. etc.
Image

and here is what I propose as the new standard (NOT the colours - just font size and style)...
Image

Which the beteljuice has had to add maths that will probably cope with most fonts.

Also of course Mapantz has highlighted the fact that the beteljuice has to remove and 'hard code' a lot of what were user varible options, but can longer be used :bash:

@ EVERYONE
I am still debugging IE 11 on the DEMO (or configurator as BCJK has nicknamed it) and there will be several files I will have to rebuild without breaking anything - so It may be sometime yet before it's all done and dusted.

By which time you experimenters will have to download and do any reconfiguring all over again :lol:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

@paulmy

You still haven't modified the update script for your 'image' locations !!!
You have:

Code: Select all

<script>   // optional image updater
		$(document).ready(function(){
			update(); // immediate put all images in the same place / time
			setInterval(update, 60*1000);
		});
		 function update(){
			 var popnow = Date.now();
			 $("#popup").attr('src', 'sun_banner.php?'+popnow);
			 $("#sun").attr('src', 'sun_button.php?'+popnow);
		 }
	 </script>
Just for you - it should be

Code: Select all

<script>   // optional image updater
		$(document).ready(function(){
			update(); // immediate put all images in the same place / time
			setInterval(update, 60*1000);
		});
		 function update(){
			 var popnow = Date.now();
			 $("#popup").attr('src', '../astronomy/sun_banner.php?'+popnow);
			 $("#sun").attr('src', '../astronomy/sun_button.php?'+popnow);
		 }
	 </script>
... and I've seen the results of some of your cut'n'paste :o :lol: :lol:

Edit:I see you've now done it - but as I suspected the 'pop-up' is off the page.
If you re-configure the position and down-load the files, all you need to change is the css portion ;) - unless you change lat/long etc. in which case you want the php files as well, but the html and updater code won't need to changed.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by PaulMy »

Sorry to keep on this :oops:
Edit:I see you've now done it - but as I suspected the 'pop-up' is off the page.
If you re-configure the position and down-load the files, all you need to change is the css portion ;) - unless you change lat/long etc. in which case you want the php files as well, but the html and updater code won't need to changed.
I have reconfigured and selected the various pop up locations, and that shows correct in the optional popup preview but not in my page live view. The current pop up location is upper right and then updated the <style type="text/css"> but the popup still remains mostly hidden beyond the left side of the page www.komokaweather.com/weather

I presume this is the code that locates the popup?

Code: Select all

	 <style type="text/css">
	 #beteljuice_stuff {
		 width: 100px;
		 height: 100px;
	 }
	 .sun_pop_in { 
		 height: 220px;
		 width: 420px;
		 position: relative;
		 top: -325px;
		 left: -420px;
		 z-index: 2000; 
		 background-color: rgba(240, 172, 84, .6);
		 padding: 10px;
		 border-radius: 15px;
		 display: block;
		 opacity: 1;
		 transition-property: opacity;
		 transition-duration:1s;
		 transition-timing-function: ease-out;
	 }
	 .sun_pop_out { 
		 height: 220px;
		 width: 420px;
		 position: relative;
		 top: -325px;
		 left: -420px;
		 background-color: rgba(240, 172, 84, .6);
		 padding: 10px;
		 border-radius: 15px;
		 display: block;
		 opacity: 0;
		 transition-property:opacity;
		 transition-duration:1.5s;
		 transition-timing-function: ease-in;
I think I got everything else in order.

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

I may have 'broken' it with all the 'fixes' I've been trying - I check it out tomorrow ..

Last time Iooked you have a broken <div> starting inside your table and ending outside. Also your credit to me was in a <tr><td> outside the table.

I never get enough time to play with your page because of your meta refresh and huge picture downloads !

In fact earlier I accidentally left a window open on your page and eventually my poor old XP machine froze and died.

I just looked at your download file, and the values you just posted are NOT the ones in the file !

Code: Select all

 <style type="text/css">
 #beteljuice_stuff {
   width: 100px;
   height: 100px;
 }

 .sun_pop_in { 
   height: 220px;
   width: 420px;
   position: relative;
   top: -325px;
   left: 0px;
   z-index: 2000;
   background-color: rgba(240, 172, 84, 0.6);
   padding: 10px;
   border-radius: 15px;
   display: block;
   opacity: 1;
   transition-property: opacity;
   transition-duration:1s;
   transition-timing-function: ease-out;
 }
 
 .sun_pop_out { 
   height: 220px;
   width: 420px;
   position: relative;
   top: -325px;
   left: 0px;
   background-color: rgba(240, 172, 84, 0.6);
   padding: 10px;
   border-radius: 15px;
   display: block;
   opacity: 0;
   transition-property:opacity;
   transition-duration:1.5s;
   transition-timing-function: ease-in;

 }
 
 .off {
   z-index: -2000;
 }
 </style>
... I think you'd better recheck the file.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
Mapantz
Posts: 1777
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by Mapantz »

beteljuice wrote: Sat 17 Nov 2018 1:27 am
Not true, you changed the font and have reduced the height (width) of the 'hours' around the outside of the button, so you modified the padding, that didn't work so you modified some of the math and ignored statements like
Hi beteljuice

When I said I kept it as it is, I meant the changes that I made.

However, I still standby what I said; before I changed the font or anything else, all I did was change the background colour and it causes the extra padding between sunrise/sunset etc

Here's the same one with just the background colour changed: https://warehamwx.co.uk/sun_banner1.php

That's why I find it odd - didn't change the font, just 255, 255, 255 to 84, 84, 84
Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

Ne'er mind ... you've got the code you need in the one I posted above.
.. but this 'banner' is highly stripped down from the original in terms of flexibility and I must stress to everyone do NOT stray from the beaten path.

"Here be dragons"
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

OK - the beteljuice thinks it almost works nicely in IE 11 :bash:

The problems of course were with all the scripting and css manipulation required to give you 'real-time' changes. M$ IE either disregarding them or breaking the script(s) execution.

More facilities added in order to dissuade messing tweaking, although there are still plenty of advanced options available in the 'graphic' files themselves - DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK !

NB: The fonts directory is not in the same place as before ! - It should be located at the same level as the sun_????.php files.
ie. {these_files}/fonts

I've got fed up of fighting IE11, so I still may have made a silly error in the 'production' script, So ....

Once more - BRAVE TESTERS only - but the betejuice hopes it's done and dusted.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice »

NOTE TO MODERATOR(S)

This topic is now redundant and may be removed.

Thank you ....
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
Post Reply