Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

A few brave testers wanted please

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu 15 Nov 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by pernaczy » Mon 12 Nov 2018 9:42 am

Downloaded and installed. http://www.pogoda-niesiolowice.kaszuby.pl/index.php (below the "weather data" table)
1. Sun_button doesn't work
2. Sun_banner works OK (even on IE11).
Piotr
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice » Mon 12 Nov 2018 1:45 pm

@ pernaczy

Something has gone wrong with sun_button.php.

Have you edited it at all ?

Try the test page again - just to get sun_button.php
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by Mapantz » Mon 12 Nov 2018 2:31 pm

I see a bug - Mon 12nd. Nov
Image
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1730
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by PaulMy » Mon 12 Nov 2018 3:16 pm

Latest test downloaded and sun_banner.php has
an added line 726

Code: Select all

$legendfullHeight = 0; // beteljuice php 7 fix
and line 826 (new 828) correction.

One error gone but still one remains
[12-Nov-2018 10:01:52 America/Toronto] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: legendfullHeight in /home/psoykkrhjuz3/public_html/astronomy/sun_banner.php on line 409
Like Mapantz I had also noticed the "12nd"

Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu 15 Nov 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by pernaczy » Mon 12 Nov 2018 3:30 pm

beteljuice wrote:
Mon 12 Nov 2018 1:45 pm
@ pernaczy
Something has gone wrong with sun_button.php.
Have you edited it at all ?
Try the test page again - just to get sun_button.php
I have tried the test page again.
This time I edited only "sun_button.php" just to change the timezone (after downloading it has "Europe/London" timezone set even I set "Europe/Warsaw" on the test page setup)
Nothing changed ("sun_banner.php" works and "sun_button.php" is not.
Piotr
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice » Mon 12 Nov 2018 9:40 pm

Doh ...

OK guys, I'll get back to you, things to check and I wan't to find out what's happening with IE11

Thanks both :clap:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice » Mon 12 Nov 2018 10:41 pm

@ EVERYONE

Thanks to pernaczy bug found where 'button' Time Zone was NOT been set.

Thanks to paulmy and pernaczy - 12nd, 13rd bug fix in 'banner' code.

Thanks to paulmy - perhaps this time I've put php7 bug fix in the correct place in the 'production' code.

:clap: :clap: :clap: - maybe .....

@ pernaczy - It must be your editor or something because even with the errors it displayed fine (You never said how you discovered the TZ error in the button 8-) ) anyway here is a working copy with your parameters:
sun_button.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by Mapantz » Tue 13 Nov 2018 1:13 am

I have to change

$height = 75px;
$width = 75px;


to

$height = 75;
$width = 75;


Otherwise the sun button image will not show.

Also, the image updater doesn't work for me. I have to refresh the page manually.
Image
Image

BCJKiwi
Posts: 874
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by BCJKiwi » Tue 13 Nov 2018 2:42 am

Yes, there is a 'px' being added by the "configurator" on the the testing site so you end up with 75pxpx.
However there is no px in the file in the recent download link in beteljuice's post two before this so this has been resolved?

At the end of the javascript (in the help.txt file generated by the configurator download), I believe there is a stray ) after the +popnow); 's in the last two lines as there does not seem to be matching opening ( 's.
function update(){
var popnow = Date.now();
document.getElementById("popup").src='sun_banner.php?'+popnow);
document.getElementById("sun").src='sun_button.php?'+popnow);
}

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice » Tue 13 Nov 2018 5:11 am

BCJKiwi wrote:
Tue 13 Nov 2018 2:42 am
Yes, there is a 'px' being added by the "configurator" on the the testing site so you end up with 75pxpx.
However there is no px in the file in the recent download link in beteljuice's post two before this so this has been resolved?

At the end of the javascript (in the help.txt file generated by the configurator download), I believe there is a stray ) after the +popnow); 's in the last two lines as there does not seem to be matching opening ( 's.
function update(){
var popnow = Date.now();
document.getElementById("popup").src='sun_banner.php?'+popnow);
document.getElementById("sun").src='sun_button.php?'+popnow);
}
:bash: :bash: :bash: :bash: You've just found what I've spent several hours trying to resolve and gave up on thinking there was somesort of conflict between jquery event listeners and ???? - the document ready check doesn't seem to 'fire'.

So now the code is jquery so you have call the library.

Also fixed a problem where the help.txt could give you the wrong css (static instead of transition)

Also .... :bash: :bash: :bash: IE11 - still can't make it work in the demo page, something in the jquery 'breaks', but just getting it to do transitions and rounded corners and not totally lose the background <div> of the popup 'banner' required an extra <meta-tag> and a very subtle change in css description - gotta love M$

A PAGE THAT WILL WORK WITH IE 11
... so this has been resolved?
I haven't put in a safety / sanity check yet ... so people should just enter in a number.

EDIT: Now impossible to enter anything other than a number.

One way to check is to look at the 'beteljuice_stuff' css width and height size in the grey panel which is updated dynamically.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu 15 Nov 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by pernaczy » Tue 13 Nov 2018 10:08 am

beteljuice wrote:
Mon 12 Nov 2018 10:41 pm
@ pernaczy - It must be your editor or something because even with the errors it displayed fine (You never said how you discovered the TZ error in the button 8-) ) anyway here is a working copy with your parameters:
sun_button.zip
I just editet "sun_button.php" file to see I can do to make it works and the I noticed this TZ problem.
Mapantz wrote:
Tue 13 Nov 2018 1:13 am
I have to change
$height = 75px;
$width = 75px;

to
$height = 75;
$width = 75;


Otherwise the sun button image will not show.
1. I had to do the same (Now it works)
2. It works also under IE11
3. When you want to change the size of "sun_button" on the test page you can not just to empty the window and then set your value (when you delet initial valu - 75 - then "NaN" shows up and after that you can do nothing, You have to open the test page again). If you want to set i.e.175 you have to set "1" before "75".
4. In the "help" file the size of banner is 220x400 and in the "sun_banner.php" file there is 200x400.
5. In the "help" file trere is stii double "px" in the size of the sun button.
Anyway. Now it works
Piotr
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

water01
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by water01 » Tue 13 Nov 2018 3:04 pm

Happy to confirm that the latest build for IE11 works well.

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by beteljuice » Tue 13 Nov 2018 5:07 pm

pernaczy wrote:
Tue 13 Nov 2018 10:08 am
1. I had to do the same (Now it works)
Actually it didn't, but it should be OK now. I finally found the circumstance where it happened !
2. It works also under IE11
and @ david - I assume you mean a final edit page NOT the DEMO page where there appears to be DOM ready problems with IE causing a lot of script failures (That's what what you get with nearly 1000 lines of disjointed experimental code)
3. When you want to change the size of "sun_button" on the test page you can not just to empty the window and then set your value (when you delet initial valu - 75 - then "NaN" shows up and after that you can do nothing, You have to open the test page again). If you want to set i.e.175 you have to set "1" before "75".
Hmm .. seems that might be another browser quirk thing - try it now please.
4. In the "help" file the size of banner is 220x440 and in the "sun_banner.php" file there is 200x400.
Look again - The size of the (default) CONTAINER is 220 x 440 - the image inside is 400 x 200. The 'sun_pop' container is how we achieve the pretend border to the banner image.
5. In the "help" file trere is stii double "px" in the size of the sun button.
Found and fixed I hope ?
Anyway. Now it works
I doubt that :lol:

Thanks Piotr for your persistence in proving the beteljuice wrong mistaken !

... unlike 'another place' where there are few viewers but no takers and no feed-back - thank goodness for this forum :clap:

Please remember everyone that this is still all experiMENTAL and any final 'release' will be in a seperate post and the files generated will have their textual descriptions / credits etc. altered.

So spake the beteljuice ...
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

water01
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by water01 » Tue 13 Nov 2018 10:59 pm

I meant the "A PAGE THAT WILL WORK WITH IE 11" was confirmed as working.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1730
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: A few brave testers wanted please

Post by PaulMy » Thu 15 Nov 2018 5:52 pm

beteljuice wrote:
Sun 11 Nov 2018 10:37 pm
@ paulmy

You have:

Code: Select all

<!-- betlejuice sun script -->
	<td>
             <span style="width: 400px; height: 200px; margin: 5px; border:0">
	           <img src="../astronomy/sun_banner.php" alt="sun hours" width="400" height="200" ></img><br /><br />
             </span>
        </td>
<!-- end betlejuice sun script -->
So ... there is nothing to "work".
All you have asked for is the 'banner' which you have put in your own <span> </span>

If you want a 'button' and a pop-up 'banner', then you need to look at the help.txt file !!!!!

Put html <div id=" beteljuice_stuff" in your <td> </td>

Code: Select all

<td>

   <div id = "beteljuice_stuff">
      <img src = "sun_button.php" id = 'sun'>
      <div id = "sun_pop" class = " sun_pop_out off ">
        <img src = "sun_banner.php" id = 'popup'>
      </div>
   </div> <!-- end beteljuice_stuff -->
   
</td>
Then you need to put the <style> ...... </style> above that or better in the <head> </head> section.
If you want the optional image upadater ... guess what .. copy <script> .... </script> to either the bottom of your page or put it in the <head> </head> section ;)

@ water01
Don't know if it is just me but the pop-up on your test site appears in Firefox but not in IE11?
This could be very, very, serious !
That would seem to suggest it is ignoring either some of the css changing / switching in the DEMO construct or even worse ignoring what should be some 'trouble free' css / jscript transition code.

Sending you a PM .....
I've had a go at this but don't have any image now. Maybe it is how my page is laid out and I don't understand the protocol in what order things need to be. I think I have put the <script> --- </script> as suggested and modified the container and where I would want it to be. Likely something else obvious, but not to me :oops:

Enjoy,
Paul

Post Reply