Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Website - Autorefresh

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

Post Reply
Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Website - Autorefresh

Post by Altocumulus » Sun 02 Sep 2018 7:54 am

Occasionally my website will lose its display, and show a blank page, and I'm not too sure why.
Originally I thought it was due to an internet-break, but that would result in a display that would say there's a break to the server.

I have a display on during the day on an old Win7 netbook using Chrome browser; in a separate room to the Cumulus monitor.
On my Win10 laptop, running Firefox browser, I've noticed the same issue - that of the website occasionally displaying a blank page.

Once that blank page appears, I can only get it to return by a manual re-fresh.

It doesn't matter what I'm using :

Meta or a script ..

#####

<Meta HTTP-EQUIV="refresh" Content="60; URL=https://www.craigdamwx.info">

##### Or:-

<script language="javascript">
function timedRefresh(timeoutPeriod) {
setTimeout("location.reload(true);",timeoutPeriod);
}

window.onload = timedRefresh(60000);
</script>

Can anyone shed a light?

I'm using Cumulus v1.9.4 (1099) - setup to update web data at 60 seconds.

Is it a conflict between browser and cumulus refresh both having a 60 second delay?

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Website - Autorefresh

Post by ConligWX » Sun 02 Sep 2018 8:25 am

not sure why you're experiencing that but you could try to start tweaking the web performance of your site.

https://gtmetrix.com/reports/www.craigd ... o/j5DmSQDC

btw https://www.craigdamwx.info/favicon.ico is coded into your site yet it doesn't exist.

Also do you really need all 12 ports open on the router/server? (quite a few email ports open)

if so then are you running a mail server on the same server as your web server?
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga/PWS Templates

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Website - Autorefresh

Post by Altocumulus » Mon 03 Sep 2018 11:24 am

Toxic17 wrote:not sure why you're experiencing that but you could try to start tweaking the web performance of your site.

https://gtmetrix.com/reports/www.craigd ... o/j5DmSQDC

btw https://www.craigdamwx.info/favicon.ico is coded into your site yet it doesn't exist.
No idea! Not something I've consciously put there!

Also do you really need all 12 ports open on the router/server? (quite a few email ports open)

if so then are you running a mail server on the same server as your web server?
Again no idea. It isn't/wasn't something I had consciously done!

Thanks for the link to the reports - I'll try and understand what it means - though my Performance Scores seem higher than average :D

Many thanks Simon (Learning something new each day, it seems.....)

Geoff

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Website - Autorefresh

Post by Altocumulus » Mon 03 Sep 2018 1:15 pm

That's a strange one. Favicon.ico doesn't exist on the server, nor in any of my css/html.

Post Reply