Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Met Office WOW updates?

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

Post Reply
harrym1byt
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
Contact:

Met Office WOW updates?

Post by harrym1byt » Sat 28 Jul 2018 6:23 pm

I have my own free website at https://m1byt.000webhostapp.com/index.htm - It is a bit quirky, in that it limits the amounts of data and maybe time, but it works.

I also upload weather to https://www.wunderground.com/personal-w ... 0720/mweek again that works OK, but..

I also have an account with WOW http://wow.metoffice.gov.uk/observation ... 03ff59b2de. That account worked pretty well, after initial confusion in the proper MX settings for it. It worked for several days and then suddenly it stopped updating on the 24th July. I have not altered the settings for WOW in MX. Anyone come across this problem before?

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW updates?

Post by ConligWX » Sat 28 Jul 2018 7:42 pm

Could you post your contents of the mxdiags folder. Just zip them.up and attach in a post.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga/PWS Templates

harrym1byt
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW updates?

Post by harrym1byt » Sat 28 Jul 2018 8:04 pm

I would seem to have fixed it, for now...

Under my station's name, it showed one number in brackets (1), which was quite similar to my my Station ID number. For the most part, they were the same numbers. My Station ID numbers entered into MX worked fine for several days, then stopped working. I have changed my Station ID number in MX, for that shown as (1) and it has again begun to update the site. WOW is an incredibly odd site to get to grips with.

Another odd issue I notice on the WOW site, is when I try to log in - I enter Username and Password, then next screen ask me to '0 Auth, accept or deny'. Either option takes me a blank screen, unless I clear my browser's data and cache just prior to logging in.

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW updates?

Post by ConligWX » Sun 29 Jul 2018 12:42 am

harrym1byt wrote:I would seem to have fixed it, for now...

Under my station's name, it showed one number in brackets (1), which was quite similar to my my Station ID number. For the most part, they were the same numbers. My Station ID numbers entered into MX worked fine for several days, then stopped working. I have changed my Station ID number in MX, for that shown as (1) and it has again begun to update the site. WOW is an incredibly odd site to get to grips with.

Another odd issue I notice on the WOW site, is when I try to log in - I enter Username and Password, then next screen ask me to '0 Auth, accept or deny'. Either option takes me a blank screen, unless I clear my browser's data and cache just prior to logging in.
try a different browser, delete your browsers cache and make sure your not blocking content with ublock/ad block extensions on the met office sites.

the met office site is strange. easier ones are PWS Weather, Weathercloud and Awekas.

WU is dying a slow painful death.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga/PWS Templates

harrym1byt
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW updates?

Post by harrym1byt » Sun 29 Jul 2018 8:28 am

Well, swapping the ID worked, but it only seemed to work to update the data on the WOW site for what seemed a single update, then it stopped again. I have run out of ideas now - why do they make the WOW site so very difficult to use?

Post Reply