Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

User avatar
HRVistaWeather
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Home (64bit)
Location: Franklin, Huon Valley, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by HRVistaWeather » Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:12 am

After extensive monitoring and analysis, (Cumulus) calibration factor for RH adjusted and all seems to work perfect now Min Cload set to 10M in Conditions Script and works perfect.

Regards,
Tony
Huon River Vista - South Franklin Weather - Tasmania
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus - FARS, Cumulus MX, 2 Soil Temp/Moist Solar/Rad.
Image

zcars12
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 10:59 pm
Weather Station: Waitara Weather
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Waitara New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by zcars12 » Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:42 pm

Hello there Beteljuice

Just an acknowledgement of thanks for the effort and time you have put into "concocting" this script. It certainly is magic stuff. Looks and works just right.

Also a shout out to JennyLeez who I understand played her cards at the right time :)

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2501
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by beteljuice » Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:09 am

Also a shout out to JennyLeez ...
... Better make that a BIG shout :clap:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
HRVistaWeather
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Home (64bit)
Location: Franklin, Huon Valley, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by HRVistaWeather » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:23 pm

Fog Sorted, thanks Beteljuice.

1st Graphic is a JPGraph using MySql and Webcam image for background.
2nd is Dashboard graphic which shows script returning "Fog,".

Just need to align the Current Conditions script with CloudBase Graphic which is Misty, should be Fog.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tony
Huon River Vista - South Franklin Weather - Tasmania
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus - FARS, Cumulus MX, 2 Soil Temp/Moist Solar/Rad.
Image

philpugh
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian Jessie
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by philpugh » Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:51 pm

Attached is a very slightly amended version of curconditions.php (named curconditions.txt to prevent any mishaps and allow uploading!)

I have amended the barometer trend logic to reflect the wording and values in use by the Met Office for their marine forecasts. These forecasts use very precise wording and it seems a shame not to use them!

The three areas that have been changed are preceded by a comment containing "Pugh". A search should reveal these areas.

Don't forget to change extension back to .php if you intend to try it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Phil Pugh
Davis Vantage Vue Raspberry Pi 2B Stretch-Lite MySQL 128Gb SSD
http://goosegate.plus.com/

philpugh
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian Jessie
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by philpugh » Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:51 pm

Attached is a very slightly amended version of curconditions.php (named curconditions.txt to prevent any mishaps and allow uploading!)

I have amended the barometer trend logic to reflect the wording and values in use by the Met Office for their marine forecasts. These forecasts use very precise wording and it seems a shame not to use them!

The three areas that have been changed are preceded by a comment containing "Pugh". A search should reveal these areas.

Don't forget to change extension back to .php if you intend to try it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Phil Pugh
Davis Vantage Vue Raspberry Pi 2B Stretch-Lite MySQL 128Gb SSD
http://goosegate.plus.com/

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2501
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by beteljuice » Tue Nov 03, 2015 5:19 am

philpugh wrote:Attached is a very slightly amended version of curconditions.php (named curconditions.txt to prevent any mishaps and allow uploading!) ....
This will FAIL without amended language support files !!!!!
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

philpugh
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian Jessie
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by philpugh » Tue Nov 03, 2015 1:42 pm

Apologies for that! Working for me though?
Phil Pugh
Davis Vantage Vue Raspberry Pi 2B Stretch-Lite MySQL 128Gb SSD
http://goosegate.plus.com/

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by Mapantz » Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:14 pm

I want to thank the OP for a wonderful script.

I have a query or possible request..

Can an option be added to use wind gust speeds when determining the wind? It may seem an odd request, it's just that it is very windy here, but in gust form. My current conditions say either 'Light breeze' or 'Gentle Breeze' because my averages never get that high. It doesn't seem to highlight that it is pretty windy. The gust speeds occurring at the moment would be considered a fresh to moderate breeze. I know this goes against the meteorological norm, but some of us may get good gusts from time to time, but not the higher averages because of obstructions.

It's still a fantastic script though- works very well with the solar sensor. :)
Image
Image

MeteoBisignano
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:45 am
Weather Station: wh3080
Operating System: windows
Location: Cosenza

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by MeteoBisignano » Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:37 am

but the figure "fog" is calculated only after rain fall or just get the base value of less cloud to 30 meters?
This morning there was fog but the script I just calculated Cloudy
Why?

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2501
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by beteljuice » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:00 am

'Fog' is given when NOT raining and cloudbase < 10m.
'Cloudy' is from your solar readings.

Check what your RH was at the time - it may be that your RH needs calibrating through Cumulus.
See earlier in the thread: http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 1&start=75 and http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 1&start=82
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2501
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by beteljuice » Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:27 am

N.B.
Google have stopped the free translation API :bash:

This means if you have 'manual' or 'prefix' text and it is not displayed in your native language - It WILL Fail !

Anyone know of an alternative free translation service that can be 'called' and return text or html ?
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
dazza1223
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:41 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: raspberry pi 3 +
Location: worthing
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by dazza1223 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:01 pm

hi all dose any one know how to refresh Current Conditions in the page as i have to keep re loading the pages
have fun and keep learning

dazza :D

User avatar
JennyLeez
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:32 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by JennyLeez » Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:39 pm

Hi dazza1223,

It appears this answer maybe a couple of months late so you may already have something sorted :)

I just add

Code: Select all

<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="300">
to the top of any page I want to refresh regularly.

Cheers
Jenny
Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
Cumulus Topsites:
http://cumulussites.net/
Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus ‘Current Conditions’ Alternative v3.0

Post by Mapantz » Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:06 pm

Hi

I've been using this script for some time now, and it has been excellent. There is something (possibly small?) I wanted to request. We've just been in the midst of a heavy shower, and I was looking at the current conditions, and wondering if 'Raining Moderately' and 'Raining Heavily' could be implemented?

I'm guessing that it would be down to this part of the code?

Code: Select all

// Rain check

    if($display['showRain']){
        if($MinutesSinceLastRainTip < 20){ // NOAA and Davis say a rain 'event' must be measurable at least every 15 min.

// however: one 'tip' could be an accident or the straw that broke the camels back

// NB: rain last hour NOT rainrate

            $auto .= (decCom($rhour) > ($rainunit == "mm" ? 0.3 : 0.015) ? $langCurrWeather["rain"] : $langCurrWeather["driz"]); // Drizzle could also be dew
            $suppress = 1; // suppress skycond

// even more (optional) fuzzy logic - figures are a suck it and see thing !

            if(decCom($presstrendval) *1.5 > ($pressunit == "hPa" || $pressunit == "mb" ? 0.7 : 0.0207)) { 
                $auto .= $langCurrWeather["improve"];
           }
            if(decCom($presstrendval) *3 < ($pressunit == "hPa" || $pressunit == "mb" ? -1.5 : -0.0443)) {
                $auto .= $langCurrWeather["worse"];
            }
        } elseif ($MinutesSinceLastRainTip > 15 && $MinutesSinceLastRainTip < 30 ) {   
            $auto .= $langCurrWeather["stop"];  // if applicable skycond will follow
        }
    } 
 // END rain check
I added these to the $langCurrWeather = array(

Code: Select all

    "heavrain" => "Raining Heavily",
    "modrain" => "Raining Moderately",
Kind regards.
Image
Image

Post Reply