Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

airstrip use

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: airstrip use

Post by beteljuice »

@laulau ....

Information I found said your Mag Dec was 0, but then I realized that was 2006.
Here's a nifty site that agrees with you ;) http://magnetic-declination.com/France/ ... 60984.html

Even so ... do you really want airfield type (Mag) headings for that page ?

They 'only' affect the wind rose and the arrow mouseover direction. The arrow is aligned 'true' on the assumption the map is also 'true'.

@ anyone and Jenny playing with this very old and messy code ...
At the bottom of ...DashBoard_ajax.js is the function flummox.

This needs clearing up :groan:
It's for working out cross / tailwinds on the runway

Code: Select all

function flummox() {
	alice = new Array(04, 22); // these are the runway numbers which are also their rounded mag dec losing last digit

// ** CHANGE **
//	nancy = val2_ave - 24;
// TO

	nancy = val2_ave - mag_deviation;

This lot was never cleaned up for distribution, just a messy experiment ... I'll think about it, but then again maybe not. SS gauges seems to be the way to go with a few bits of my logic bolted in.
Cumulus does much more now (Apparent Temp and VRB wind for example) which that old code had to work out for itself.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sun 13 Dec 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by nitrx »

I dont know anything of the cript but Laurent has French windrose points in the realtime.txt the javascript has this:

Code: Select all

var langWindDir = new Array( /* used for alt and title tags on wind dir arrow and wind direction display */
	"N", "NNE", "NE", "ENE", 
	"E", "ESE", "SE", "SSE", 
	"S", "SSW", "SW", "WSW", 
	"W", "WNW", "NW", "NNW");
isn't this collapsing with the arrows ? Just a wild guess :?
User avatar
JennyLeez
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2009 2:32 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by JennyLeez »

Hi beteljuice,

Not sure about the messy but certainly interesting code :)

Ok I have changed backgrounds and now have the pdf version you linked me too.
Better I feel as more informative info on it.
I also moved things around to reveal as much of the background as could.

I now have the large arrow I was missing but unfortunately it remains Red when in fact it should be green.
Reading above I have changed the permissions on the rarrow.php but alas no alteration in colour.

I have made all the changes you gave me except:
EDIT: Don't forget to change var mag_deviation = 21.1 in BOTH the JS files.
I could only find this in the dashboard.js file.

Any ideas regarding the large red arrow that should be green please.

http://wairoaweather.net/NZWO.php

Cheers
Jenny
Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
Cumulus Topsites:
http://cumulussites.net/
Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: airstrip use

Post by beteljuice »

Interesting that both you and laulau can't get it to work (he's just been trying my servers copy !)
Perhaps I zipped up a buggy version ?
Edit: equally non-working attachement removed !

@ all ... Language and textual outputwise, the code is all over the place !!!!!

You will need to carefully vet the scripts to suit your native tongue - sorry !

@ all ... I hadn't considered fraction Mag Deviation (and it is unimportant), so need to clean up ...
bottom of .... DashBoard_ajax.js

Code: Select all

// Change this:
 // function to convert degrees True to degrees MAGNETIC
 function toMAG(deg){
	newDeg = deg - mag_deviation;
	if(newDeg < 1){ newDeg = newDeg +360;} // will happen with +ve mag_deviation
	if(newDeg > 360){newDeg = newDeg -360;} // will happen with -ve mag_deviation
	return newDeg;
} // END function toMAG

// To

 // function to convert degrees True to degrees MAGNETIC
 function toMAG(deg){
	newDeg = deg - mag_deviation;
	if(newDeg < 1){ newDeg = newDeg +360;} // will happen with +ve mag_deviation
	if(newDeg > 360){newDeg = newDeg -360;} // will happen with -ve mag_deviation
	return Math.round(newDeg); // fractions removed
} // END function toMAG

 
 
Last edited by beteljuice on Wed 20 Aug 2014 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
laulau
Posts: 678
Joined: Tue 13 Oct 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by laulau »

(he's just been trying my servers copy !)
Yes, it works on your server :oops:

I try it unsuccessfuly on another server (http://ialsacem4.chez.com/carte/rarrow. ... ng&deg=241)
No more success on my old Apache server (EasyPHP 5.4.6), just an error message ~''The image can't be displayed because it contains errors''(translated)
The last uploaded version don't give better results :(
Laurent

Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: airstrip use

Post by beteljuice »

Very odd - must be something to do with (PHP) GD library, but I can't think what at the moment.
This is all old stuff and I'm struggling to find the 'working' versions and what I was doing !

I lost a few hard drives and host provider migrated a couple of times along he way .... multiple whammy :groan:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
laulau
Posts: 678
Joined: Tue 13 Oct 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by laulau »

Here http://meteo.laurentmey.fr/carte/c68205.php i replaced NZDA_mag.php by some SteelSerie gauges.
But i still use Beteljuice's server for rarrow.php ;)
Laurent

Image
User avatar
JennyLeez
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2009 2:32 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by JennyLeez »

Hi,

I think those steel gauges might be a bit posh for our very tiny Wairoa Airfield....lol

Alterations made and rarrow.php replaced but no change alas :(
http://wairoaweather.net/NZWO.php

Works fine on your server beteljuice. I just need that nice big green arrow over here on my server.... ho hum :)

http://www.beteljuice.co.uk/betel_cumul ... d9a25f.txt

Cheers now

Jenny
Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
Cumulus Topsites:
http://cumulussites.net/
Image
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: airstrip use

Post by beteljuice »

It isn't making any sense - it's 'old' code and should work on PHP 4 and 5.

Perhaps for some reason your php server(s) are being fussy because I didn't use ISSET, but it shouldn't make any difference ?

They are both acting as if the 'posted' values are being stripped out ?
Last edited by beteljuice on Wed 20 Aug 2014 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: airstrip use

Post by beteljuice »

Try this 'stricter' version please ...
rarrow.zip
06:00 local - time to sneak in pit.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
ianboag
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon 18 Aug 2014 12:48 am
Weather Station: WS 1080
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Turangi, NZ

Re: airstrip use

Post by ianboag »

I'm a primitive sort of NZ chap looking to build a primitive sort of weather site for the Turangi Aero Club.

Basically a METAR and some pix NSEW (to get an idea of cloudbase). So I have been hacking indexT to show only the stuff I want with no frills. Makes it easier on a phone I imagine.
I don't want graphs, history, highest/lowest or any of that.

I think Airways NZ would get a bit scratchy (copyright and all that) if I put the AIP plate anywhere.

So far I haven't got as far as doing anything with picture stuff. I have to find out how to run four webcams. Every half hour I want to take a picture on each one and send it up with the next cumulus web refresh. VGA quality is fine. I haven't figured how to do this, but there seem to be some leads about.

I do like the notion that there is no - as in zip - zero - server side programming :-)
ianboag
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon 18 Aug 2014 12:48 am
Weather Station: WS 1080
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Turangi, NZ

Re: airstrip use

Post by ianboag »

I forgot to mention ... my current effort is at bgy.inspire.net.nz. Pretty tame compared to some of the other stuff I see.

As far as putting the plate up .... this is what the AIP people say ... on the screen that comes up when you try to link to a plate .... you have to accept this and a whole lot of other stuff before it will show you the plate. So I guess one would just link to the plate on my site and let the user navigate through .....

1.The AIP material published on this website ("Material") is made available free-of-charge to you as an individual user ("You") for your personal use only.
2.You agree to use the Material in a manner consistent with all applicable laws and regulations and safe and prudent navigation practices.
3.You may not do anything with or to the Material that is not expressly authorised by the CAA. In particular (but without limitation) you may not:
a.extract, copy, reproduce, modify, adapt, distort or vary the Material by any means or in any form other than for your personal use;
b.republish or use the Material for any commercial gain whatsoever or to purport the document to be the AIP.
4.Any unauthorised use of the Material could breach copyright and is prohibited.
5.Commercial publishers and application developers wishing to incorporate or re-distribute AIPNZ content should contact aim@airways.co.nz for further information.


Forget option 5 .... I tried to get VNCs and was quoted some horrendous up-front price, half a tree of legalese and a requirement that I have $10m of public liability insurance .....
User avatar
laulau
Posts: 678
Joined: Tue 13 Oct 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by laulau »

Try this 'stricter' version please ...
it does the trick :!: :clap: :clap:
Laurent

Image
User avatar
JennyLeez
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2009 2:32 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by JennyLeez »

It certainly does laulau :)

Thank you heaps beteljuice, as always your help much appreciated.

Cheers
Jenny
Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
Cumulus Topsites:
http://cumulussites.net/
Image
User avatar
JennyLeez
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2009 2:32 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: airstrip use

Post by JennyLeez »

Hi ianboag,

This is a tidy small display. Made by David Jamieson for iphones/smartphones.
Runs fine on PCs as well.
http://wairoa.net/iphone/index.html
I have found in my travels, readers like the 'today' page as quite often looking for the likes of the overnight low or in Summer the high for the day.

Another idea is a plain banner as on this page:
http://cumulussites.net/index.php

'Now' conditions in a tidy display.
or smaller still as in my signature.

Just need to add a link to cam page once down.

Anyways just some ideas.
Cheers
Jenny
Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
Cumulus Topsites:
http://cumulussites.net/
Image
Post Reply