Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.3.0 build 3063 - 10 January 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

    Moderator: daj

    Post Reply
    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by steve » Sun 14 Jun 2009 5:06 pm

    There are some odd things going on there, and I don't know why. The font size of some of the text has increased ("Full Screen" no longer fits in the button, for example) and the graph axis is showing both date and time, which is messing up the formatting. I can't work out how/why this can be happening.

    Edit: The error console shows some errors from the application - I'll investigate.
    Steve

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by steve » Sun 14 Jun 2009 6:39 pm

    steve wrote:
    There are some odd things going on there, and I don't know why. The font size of some of the text has increased ("Full Screen" no longer fits in the button, for example)
    There are some errors in your html which may be the cause of the font funnies. I haven't specified sizes for some of the text, and it seems you can therefore affect this from html - I hadn't realised this. Possibly fixing the html errors will fix the font problems, and I'll make sure to supply sizes in the next version.

    This may help you fix the errors: http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http% ... ne&group=0

    I still don't know why the graph is giving an error ("Input string was not in a correct format").
    Steve

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by steve » Sun 14 Jun 2009 9:55 pm

    Further investigation suggests that both the font problem and the date/time axis problem are a result of changing the extension of the Silverlight application to '.txt'.
    Steve

    NorthNJwx
    Posts: 18
    Joined: Tue 05 May 2009 3:59 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 & Vue
    Operating System: Windows XP
    Location: Oakland, NJ, USA

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by NorthNJwx » Sun 14 Jun 2009 10:06 pm

    steve wrote:Further investigation suggests that both the font problem and the date/time axis problem are a result of changing the extension of the Silverlight application to '.txt'.
    I noticed the font and graph axis problems, but I wasn't sure if it was worth it to ask about it or not. The functionality isn't really affected, even with the graph axis being a little tougher to read.

    User avatar
    akasonny
    Posts: 232
    Joined: Mon 15 Jun 2009 4:43 am
    Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by akasonny » Mon 15 Jun 2009 4:47 am

    For those who are having problems with the cumulusrealtime page, I discovered the following:

    when entering: http://<mywebpage> i had the same problem. The data loading box just stayed forever.

    However, when I entered http://www. it worked each and every time.

    I don't pretend to understand the difference but I do know progress when I see it.

    Hope this helps.

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by steve » Mon 15 Jun 2009 8:54 am

    akasonny wrote:when entering: http://<mywebpage> i had the same problem. The data loading box just stayed forever.

    However, when I entered http://www. it worked each and every time.
    Thanks - I think I understand the reason for this. The URL of the realtime.txt file that you put in the XML configuration needs to match the URL that you use to access the application (by 'match' I mean it needs to have the same domain). By default, there is a security restriction in Silverlight that prevents applications accessing data from sites other than the one hosting the application. It appears that the presence or otherwise of a leading 'www.' is included in the check.

    You can override the security check, as I have done on sanday.org.uk, by placing a file called clientaccesspolicy.xml in the root of your web space, containing the following:

    Code: Select all

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <access-policy>
      <cross-domain-access>
        <policy>
          <allow-from>
            <domain uri="*"/>
          </allow-from>
          <grant-to>
            <resource path="/" include-subpaths="true"/>
          </grant-to>
        </policy>
      </cross-domain-access>
    </access-policy>
    Instead of the <domain uri="*"/> line, you can if you wish restrict access just to specific domains, e.g:

    Code: Select all

    <allow-from>
      <domain uri="http://sanday.org.uk/"/>
      <domain uri="http://www.sanday.org.uk/"/>
    </allow-from>
    Steve

    User avatar
    franciscus
    Posts: 57
    Joined: Thu 13 Nov 2008 7:15 pm
    Weather Station: National Geographic -Fine Offset
    Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by franciscus » Mon 15 Jun 2009 1:00 pm

    franciscus wrote:
    steve wrote:
    franciscus wrote:In any case, I still am unable to use the cumulusrealtime in any browser
    I think your web server needs configuring for xml files (I get a 'forbidden' when trying to access your xml file, so that may be a permissions problem). Unfortunately I don't know anything about Xitami so I can't really help.
    I'll see if I can find anything, and failing that, ask the authors <G>. They have a new version, but, I dont like it. Opens in a DOS window, and have yet to get it to recognize where my webpages are located :(
    Well, I seem to have fixed my problems by changing web servers. At least it works when I access it here. Proper title and temp etc.

    http://www.lionsden.darktech.org/weathe ... ltime.html

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by steve » Mon 15 Jun 2009 1:17 pm

    franciscus wrote:Well, I seem to have fixed my problems by changing web servers. At least it works when I access it here. Proper title and temp etc.
    Yes, looks good from here too.
    Steve

    User avatar
    akasonny
    Posts: 232
    Joined: Mon 15 Jun 2009 4:43 am
    Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by akasonny » Mon 15 Jun 2009 1:22 pm

    Thanks Steve.

    I'll add that to the website.

    User avatar
    franciscus
    Posts: 57
    Joined: Thu 13 Nov 2008 7:15 pm
    Weather Station: National Geographic -Fine Offset
    Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by franciscus » Mon 15 Jun 2009 2:11 pm

    steve wrote:
    franciscus wrote:Well, I seem to have fixed my problems by changing web servers. At least it works when I access it here. Proper title and temp etc.
    Yes, looks good from here too.
    Thanks for confirming that. Using Abyss Web Server now. Tried several. This one does all I need it to do at the moment <G>

    User avatar
    akasonny
    Posts: 232
    Joined: Mon 15 Jun 2009 4:43 am
    Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by akasonny » Tue 16 Jun 2009 4:37 pm

    Searched the forum but couldn't find the clue for this condition:

    Realtime data, though set for realtime interval of 5, only updates, approximately, every 50 seconds. FTP data (realtime.txt) is reaching the website fine (though it seems its repeating the same data it transmitted 5 seconds before). I swear I've experimented with virtually every configurable file I can find with no results. Could this be a) the server, b) the weather unit itself, c) operator stupidity, d) all of the above?

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by steve » Tue 16 Jun 2009 4:41 pm

    The Fine Offset stations only supply new data every 50 seconds or so.
    Steve

    User avatar
    akasonny
    Posts: 232
    Joined: Mon 15 Jun 2009 4:43 am
    Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by akasonny » Tue 16 Jun 2009 5:01 pm

    Well that says alot :-( and seems to answer my question, thanks.

    Wondering now if there's anyway to 'pull' the data faster. Hmmmmm.

    User avatar
    Paul C
    Posts: 377
    Joined: Thu 19 Jun 2008 7:45 am
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by Paul C » Wed 17 Jun 2009 8:09 pm

    Got mine working in less than 3 minutes !!, cheers Steve.

    http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk/cumulu ... ltime.html

    ivestfold
    Posts: 31
    Joined: Sat 28 Feb 2009 10:36 pm
    Weather Station: WH1080
    Operating System: Win7 Premium

    Re: Realtime gauges v1.0.0.3 available for download

    Post by ivestfold » Thu 25 Jun 2009 7:27 pm

    My Cumulus actually receives data from the WH1080 every 10th second.. What did I do wrong?:-)

    BR Ingve
    Image

    Post Reply