Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.14.0 (build 3159) - 04 December 2021

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Local Web Server

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

scottbob78
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 21 Sep 2012 4:53 am
Weather Station: Ambient Weather
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Location: USA
Contact:

Local Web Server

Post by scottbob78 »

I recently setup my home computer as my web server. The standard pages are fine, but the pages that need to be processed through the FTP upload are not. How can I configure Cumulus to process these pages and the realtime.txt file so the website functions correctly?

http://kctwolco2.onmypc.net

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 9231
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by mcrossley »

Is Cumulus running on the same computer as the web service?

scottbob78
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 21 Sep 2012 4:53 am
Weather Station: Ambient Weather
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by scottbob78 »

Yes

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 9231
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by mcrossley »

OK, you don't need to bother with FTP all then, but it needs a little extra work to set up all the file copies. This is roughly how I have mine set up...

On the Internet Settings | Sites/Options dialog...

1. Make sure that the Web Site Host name is blank. I leave all the other fields except the forum URL blank too.
2. Set the Web Settings:
Auto Update = enabled,
Interval = <your update interval>,
Enable Realtime = enabled
Enable Realtime FTP = disabled
Realtime.txt FTP = disabled.

All the config below is done on Internet Settings | Files dialog.

1. Include Standard files = disabled
2. Include Standard Images = enabled
3. Set "Copy images to folder:" = <your web server 'images' folder> - e.g. mine is set to "C:\xampp\htdocs\weather\images"
4. realtime.txt...
Local filename = C:\Cumulus\realtime.txt
Remote filename = C:\xampp\htdocs\weather\realtime.txt
Process? = disabled
Realtime? = enabled
FTP? = disabled
5. Record.htm...
Local filename = C:\Cumulus\web\recordT.htm
Remote filename = C:\xampp\htdocs\weather\record.htm
Process? = enabled
Realtime? = disabled
FTP? = disabled

Repeat 5. for each of the files to be processed.

scottbob78
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 21 Sep 2012 4:53 am
Weather Station: Ambient Weather
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by scottbob78 »

Thank you very much!

scott_thewspot
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 16 Oct 2013 4:18 am
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows 7/8/10/2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by scott_thewspot »

Thanks for the answer. I worked out getting the images to auto-upload, but couldn't figure out what to do with the htm files. I was just about to resort to setting up an FTP server when I found this post.

I've just started setting my system up. My web server is on another box on my LAN, but using the same approach with a UNC path (\\server\website\weather\...) for the destination works as well.

It would be handy if there was a "Local file copy" as well as the FTP option. There are just enough slots for the entries to create one for each of the (current) .htm files, and it is a bit of an irritation having to do each file separately.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 9231
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by mcrossley »

scott_thewspot wrote:There are just enough slots for the entries to create one for each of the (current) .htm files, and it is a bit of an irritation having to do each file separately.
Cumulus supports 100 files, its just that only the first 10 (0-9) are configurable via the dialog box, the rest (10-99) you have to put into the cumulus.ini file manually. http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/Cumulus.in ... :_FTP_Site

scott_thewspot
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 16 Oct 2013 4:18 am
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows 7/8/10/2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by scott_thewspot »

Ah, good to know. Having an option for "Standard Files" using the copy method would be handy still.

n9mfk
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun 10 May 2009 8:52 pm
Weather Station: davis vp2 Serial datalogger
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Local Web Server

Post by n9mfk »

Hi Mark,
How do you handle noaa reports?
Thanks Beau

BigOkie
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue 28 May 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus
Operating System: Raspian Buster (RPi 3b)
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: Local Web Server

Post by BigOkie »

n9mfk wrote:Hi Mark,
How do you handle noaa reports?
Thanks Beau
Not Mark (well, actually that is MY name also, but I digress)...

I handle it on a local server by a scheduled task to copy to the share directory. Works just fine for me. I set it for 12:01am daily.

n9mfk
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun 10 May 2009 8:52 pm
Weather Station: davis vp2 Serial datalogger
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Local Web Server

Post by n9mfk »

do you use a bat file to to do the copy?
Beau

BigOkie
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue 28 May 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus
Operating System: Raspian Buster (RPi 3b)
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: Local Web Server

Post by BigOkie »

n9mfk wrote:do you use a bat file to to do the copy?
Beau
Yes, but I enclose in a VBS so if I'm working at the time the task runs, I don't see a command window pop up.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 9231
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by mcrossley »

I get Toolbox to run a copy command every night at 00:10...

xcopy "C:\Cumulus\reports\*.txt" c:\<webfolder>\weather\reports\ /y /m

This will copy only updated files, so if any are regenerated for some reason, they will be recopied.

BigOkie
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue 28 May 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus
Operating System: Raspian Buster (RPi 3b)
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: Local Web Server

Post by BigOkie »

mcrossley wrote:I get Toolbox to run a copy command every night at 00:10...

xcopy "C:\Cumulus\reports\*.txt" c:\<webfolder>\weather\reports\ /y /m

This will copy only updated files, so if any are regenerated for some reason, they will be recopied.
I never thought of doing it that way, but since I keep Toolbox running also, not a bad idea.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Local Web Server

Post by BCJKiwi »

An alternative approach,
I don't run toolbox and do it all with a combination of Cumulus, batch files, and for a second public website, ftp run in the same batch files.

1. set up Cumulus to process the files (but not send them anywhere if you are working entirely locally).
2. set up a folder in c:\Cumulus - I have one named ftp - C:\Cumulus\ftp
3. in Internet Settings, Sites/Options, External programs (bottom left corner)
configure the boxes;
Program c:\cumulus\ftp\tagtime.cmd
Realtime c:\cumulus\ftp\realtime.cmd
Daily c:\cumulus\ftp\daily.cmd

With this set up, you can then do what ever you need in each batch file to copy /ftp files wherever required.

I run two websites on a publicly hosted server - one for Saratoga template based website http://silveracorn.co.nz/weather
and one for the Cumulus standard website http://silveracorn.co.nz/cumulus
I also run an XAMPP webserver for development/testing also with both Saratoga and Cumulus websites.

Cumulus processes and sends files to the Saratoga website as it would if it were the only website.
The batch files are set up to;
Ftp data to the public Cumulus website
copy or xcopy data to both internal XAMPP based websites.
So the batch files look like this ( c:\cumulus\ftp\realtime.cmd as an example)
:: FTP to PUBLIC Cumulus website
ncftpput -f userpass1st.cfg -a -z -S .tmp -e realtime.log /httpdocs/cumulus c:\cumulus\realtime.txt

:: COPY files to LOCAL Saratoga Website
copy c:\cumulus\realtime.txt \\10.0.0.27\weather\realtime.txt /Y

:: COPY files to LOCAL Cumulus Website
copy c:\cumulus\realtime.txt \\10.0.0.27\cumulus\realtime.txt /Y

You can use either the IP address or the sharename on the local network of the folder for the website

So this makes for easy fiddling if required.
Files can be added/removed from the batchfiles as required without upsetting anything else.
the only time Cumulus is involved is when a new file is required in which case a template file needs to be added to the C:\Cumulus\web folder and configured in Internet Settings, Files to process the file.
The web folder will have three files for each one processed (except realtime.txt which is in C:\Cumulus, and the graphs which are in C:\Cumulus\web\images);
the xxxxxT.txt template file, an xxxxxT.txttmp file and the file you need to copy - xxxxx.txt.

Looks complicated but quite simple to set up and to change as required.

Post Reply