Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

Struggling with SFTP

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by ConligWX » Thu 17 Aug 2017 2:59 pm

meteozusterhof wrote:If I type winscp.exe in the prompt, it opens the GUI of winscp.

So WinSCP appears to be properly installed. It is the scripting part that does not seem to work.
ok instead of using winscp.exe use winscp.com

Code: Select all

winscp.com /script="C:\Cumulus\sftp-cmds.txt" /log="C:\Cumulus\winscp.log" /loglevel=2
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS Templates

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by mcrossley » Thu 17 Aug 2017 4:16 pm

I'd be interested to see the output from the command > dir c:\cumulus\sftp*

meteozusterhof
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 13 Jul 2011 2:14 pm
Weather Station: WS-4000
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by meteozusterhof » Thu 17 Aug 2017 9:36 pm

If I use winSCP.com instead of .exe in the bat, I get a brief glimpse of a window syaing that a file was not found.
-----
Weatherstation Zusterhof, Leiden, the Netherlands
http://www.meteozusterhof.nl

meteozusterhof
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 13 Jul 2011 2:14 pm
Weather Station: WS-4000
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by meteozusterhof » Thu 17 Aug 2017 9:39 pm

Mark, that results in:

Code: Select all

C:\Cumulus>dir c:\cumulus\sftp*
 
 Directory of c:\cumulus

08/14/2017  15:09             1,899 sftp-cmds.txt.txt
08/17/2017  23:33                97 sftp.bat
               2 File(s)          1,996 bytes
               0 Dir(s)  38,999,916,544 bytes free
-----
Weatherstation Zusterhof, Leiden, the Netherlands
http://www.meteozusterhof.nl

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by ConligWX » Thu 17 Aug 2017 9:55 pm

meteozusterhof wrote:If I use winSCP.com instead of .exe in the bat, I get a brief glimpse of a window syaing that a file was not found.
because it doesnt find sftp-cmds.txt

you have named it sftp-cmds.txt.txt
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS Templates

meteozusterhof
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 13 Jul 2011 2:14 pm
Weather Station: WS-4000
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by meteozusterhof » Thu 17 Aug 2017 10:34 pm

YAY!!!!!! IT WORKS!

The principle problem appears indeed to have been that I hadn't noticed the redundant .txt.txt

It does now connect, produce a winscp.log, and indeed files are transfered!

For the latter, after looking at the log, I had to solve a few things, more exactly, turns out the lines in the script had to be:

Code: Select all

put "C:\Cumulus\realtime.txt" WWW/weer/realtime.txt
put "C:\Cumulus\web\index.htm" WWW/weer/index.htm
etc...

Thank you all very much for your help!!!!
:D
-----
Weatherstation Zusterhof, Leiden, the Netherlands
http://www.meteozusterhof.nl

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by ConligWX » Thu 17 Aug 2017 10:37 pm

glad it worked. you could now turn the logging off totally or lower the debug level. levels are

0 = normal
1 = debug 1
2 = debug 2
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS Templates

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by mcrossley » Fri 18 Aug 2017 8:02 am

Toxic17 wrote:
meteozusterhof wrote:If I use winSCP.com instead of .exe in the bat, I get a brief glimpse of a window syaing that a file was not found.
because it doesnt find sftp-cmds.txt

you have named it sftp-cmds.txt.txt
Thought it might be that!

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by Altocumulus » Sun 11 Feb 2018 4:42 pm

Just dropping by to ask a silly question.

Is this script instead of the extra settings in the Files Internet Configuration panel, or as well as?

You may :groan: or :bash: as appropriate :D

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by mcrossley » Mon 12 Feb 2018 7:05 pm

Instead of, and as well as ;) If you your server is using SFTP which Cumulus doesn't support you will have to do the uploads via an external script, the processing is still done by Cumulus.
Last edited by mcrossley on Tue 13 Feb 2018 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by Altocumulus » Tue 13 Feb 2018 8:42 am

Thanks Mark, I'm trying to follow wiki and threads like this one.

winSCP is loaded and I've checked that I can logon to the server correctly. Server requires FTP over TLS Explicit encryption. As of yesterday evening, I hadn't got the script file to work. I have an idea I'll check this morning. The script is written solely in lower case, whilst my viewing of the windows structure on my PC has some upper case characters, the C: drive and capital C for Cumulus - I'm hoping that's all it is.

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by Altocumulus » Tue 13 Feb 2018 9:44 am

Altocumulus wrote:Thanks Mark, I'm trying to follow wiki and threads like this one.

winSCP is loaded and I've checked that I can logon to the server correctly. Server requires FTP over TLS Explicit encryption. As of yesterday evening, I hadn't got the script file to work. I have an idea I'll check this morning. The script is written solely in lower case, whilst my viewing of the windows structure on my PC has some upper case characters, the C: drive and capital C for Cumulus - I'm hoping that's all it is.
And it's not that, so back to some further reading!

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Struggling with SFTP

Post by Altocumulus » Tue 13 Feb 2018 10:57 am

Altocumulus wrote:
Altocumulus wrote:Thanks Mark, I'm trying to follow wiki and threads like this one.

winSCP is loaded and I've checked that I can logon to the server correctly. Server requires FTP over TLS Explicit encryption. As of yesterday evening, I hadn't got the script file to work. I have an idea I'll check this morning. The script is written solely in lower case, whilst my viewing of the windows structure on my PC has some upper case characters, the C: drive and capital C for Cumulus - I'm hoping that's all it is.
And it's not that, so back to some further reading!
Running manually shows a fleeting view at the console.

Log file suggests connection is made, but soon disconnected.

Post Reply