Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

The inside of the ws-1081

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
Post Reply
User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun 18 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

The inside of the ws-1081

Post by hans » Sun 01 Feb 2009 12:43 pm

I couldn't find any pictures of it, so i took some myself.
It might be useful to somebody.(in cases of bad soldering,sensors etc).

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Last edited by hans on Fri 25 Jul 2014 9:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by beteljuice » Sun 01 Feb 2009 12:58 pm

Thank you Hans.

A picture paints a thousand words !

Interesting, everyone has said about the poor contrast / backlighting, but it looks like from your pictures that they made provison for 4 LEDs, but only fitted 2.

Is that correct ?
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun 18 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by hans » Sun 01 Feb 2009 1:06 pm

no,as you can see in picture 4,there are 4 leds.
they are also used to align the lcd-part.

i also noticed,when you look at p4 and p6,that without the touchscreen,the lcd is much claerer.

thinking of making the touchscreen removable...... 8-)

User avatar
keithatrochdale
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu 23 Oct 2008 10:23 am
Weather Station: WH1080PC
Operating System: XP
Location: Rochdale
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by keithatrochdale » Sun 01 Feb 2009 2:23 pm

Mine has 4 too.

Has anybody got a copy of the manual, I seem to have put mine in a safe place...........

Memory is full, do I need to empty it, or will it just roll off the oldest data and replace with new data?
Nothing is foolproof, to a sufficiently talented fool . . .

WH1080PC Rochdale UK, 171m

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by steve » Sun 01 Feb 2009 2:45 pm

Excellent - I almost feel like I own one now. :)

Steve

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun 18 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by hans » Sun 01 Feb 2009 2:56 pm

done a little experiment

here is a picture of my lcd
Image

now i removed the touchscreen.
one without a lamp,the next with.
Image

Image

much better.

i leave mine off,don't use it,but one can make an extension cable(rj45) on it and put the touchscreen with a picture of ones lcd behind it in a pictureframe.
the picture is needed for the right placement of our finger
Last edited by hans on Fri 25 Jul 2014 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

goldrush
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon 27 Oct 2008 4:50 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH1081
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by goldrush » Sun 01 Feb 2009 4:09 pm

Kieth
You do not need to clear the memory, it will simply insert the new data and push out the oldest.
Image

User avatar
keithatrochdale
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu 23 Oct 2008 10:23 am
Weather Station: WH1080PC
Operating System: XP
Location: Rochdale
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by keithatrochdale » Sun 01 Feb 2009 6:34 pm

goldrush wrote:Kieth
You do not need to clear the memory, it will simply insert the new data and push out the oldest.
Brill, many thanks for confirming that. :D
Nothing is foolproof, to a sufficiently talented fool . . .

WH1080PC Rochdale UK, 171m

harrym1byt
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by harrym1byt » Sun 01 Feb 2009 9:07 pm

Second picture from the top, those small boards are:-

Receiver for outdoor sensors
............indoor temperature....................................................................... USB relay
|....................................hydrometer..............................................................................USB socket
| touch screen
| plug in
|..........................................alarm sounder

I have had to use fullstops above, to maintain the character spacing.

harrym1byt
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by harrym1byt » Sun 01 Feb 2009 9:16 pm

I was thinking...

Rather than move the touch screen out of the case into a picture frame, just remove it and add some small buttons down the edge of the case.

How many does it need?

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun 18 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by hans » Sun 01 Feb 2009 9:35 pm

The touchscreen connection has 8 contacts,probably 1 ground/plus,so i think you would need 7 switches,
something like these might work.
Image

then again,
i just took a look at the touchscreen (which i have removed)
it is made of 2 plates, each has 4 connections(the middle 4 to one,the outer 4 to the other),2 directing to a touch area,one from each plate to one area.

tomorrow i will try to make a schematic drawing of it.
Last edited by hans on Fri 25 Jul 2014 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun 18 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by hans » Mon 02 Feb 2009 7:57 pm

here is a drawing of the touchscreen.
i connected the contacts(numbers left) with a multimeter,then looked which area reacted to pressure on it.
so far i found these
Image
Last edited by hans on Fri 25 Jul 2014 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

harrym1byt
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by harrym1byt » Mon 02 Feb 2009 9:09 pm

harrym1byt wrote:Second picture from the top, those small boards are:-
I probably got that WRONG!

Somewhere in there is the pressure sensor.

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun 18 Jan 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by hans » Mon 02 Feb 2009 9:29 pm

this is the air pressure sensor
Image
Last edited by hans on Fri 25 Jul 2014 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

AndyC
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri 09 Jan 2009 7:07 pm

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Post by AndyC » Mon 02 Feb 2009 10:53 pm

So we found the air pressure sensor then ! I reckon that orange/red wire is the receiver antenna so that is the receiver module. So the inside temperature / inside humidity must be both on that larger module. Yes ?

Post Reply