Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.8.0 (build 3090) - 12 August 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items). Software

Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
Post Reply
Richard_chapman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 01 Aug 2020 1:19 pm
Weather Station: Easyweather?
Operating System: Windows 10 2004

Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by Richard_chapman »

I have a "Fine Offset/Easyweather" station, and have tried using Cumulus for the first time (v 3.6.12). Cumulus says it finds the station and is "Downloading archive data". But it appears to be only reading current data. My station has ~3 weeks data stored, but the Cumulus Data Logs page shows just one line. If I restart Cumulus it shows a second line but it doesn't appear to show any of the past data stored in the station. I can see the past data with Easyweather, and I don't clear the memory.

Am I doing something wrong, or just misunderstanding Cumulus functionality? Should I expect Cumulus to download all the past data stored in the station?

Thanks...

sfws
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Modified Fine Offset
Operating System: Win. 10 PC
Location: The Marches, UK

Re: Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by sfws »

Richard_chapman wrote:
Sat 01 Aug 2020 1:54 pm
using Cumulus for the first time
On first use of Cumulus, it sets start date to current date, and records only from that time going forward, it does not download any past data before that time/date.

EDIT: water01gave a slightly different answer after me, so I will remove my advice to avoid any danger of confusion
Last edited by sfws on Sat 01 Aug 2020 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

water01
Posts: 1944
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by water01 »

Do this https://cumuluswiki.org/a/FAQ#How_do_I_ ... scratch.3F

In your case you are not setting it to today's date but a date 3-4 weeks ago (your choice). You obviously do this with CumulusMx/Cumulus 1 nor running and then once you have edited the file start up your program of choice and it should pick up older data from the Fine Offset logger.
David
Image

Richard_chapman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 01 Aug 2020 1:19 pm
Weather Station: Easyweather?
Operating System: Windows 10 2004

Re: Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by Richard_chapman »

Many thanks to both of you. My station is down at our farm, so I can't test your suggestion immediately. I'll get back there in a week or two, hopefully before the station memory fills up...😀

If I understand correctly, I can change the "StartDate=" parameter in Cumulus.ini to an earlier date, and it should download my data.

On a couple of related queries...

Can I use Cumulus to "clear the memory" in my station. I can't see that option in any menus. My station seems to meet its memory "manually cleared" when using Eadyweather.. it doesn't seem to use a circular buffer correctly.

And, I was hoping to import years of Easyweather data into Cumulus... Somehow... Do you have any advice on how to do that, and does it have implications for what I should set my "Start date=" to?

Thanks again...

water01
Posts: 1944
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by water01 »

CumulsMX does not have a memory clear function, nor does Cumulus 1. You say the circular memory is not working correctly, are you absolutely sure as that is the normal process of a FO weather station i.e. latest data just overwrites the oldest data. The only way I know of clearing it, but it doesn't always work, is to completely reset the console by removing the batteries and the USB connection and leaving it for about 20 minutes.

As to the Easyweather data there is a user on here called daj who if you PM him has a process for producing the right Cumulus files from the Easyweather data. He did it for me many years ago and it works well, but the only thing I don't know is if he is still willing to do it, and more importantly if he is still a User although the forum software last logged him as active in March of this year. If he is able to do it you will need to set the Start Date to the date of the first data the Easyweather software logged in its files.
David
Image

Richard_chapman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 01 Aug 2020 1:19 pm
Weather Station: Easyweather?
Operating System: Windows 10 2004

Re: Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by Richard_chapman »

Hi David(?) and "SFWS"

I was back at the farm yesterday and able to try out your suggestions. I tried following the "reset all data" procedure David suggested.

Initially I just connected the Fine Offset and started Cumulus 3.7.0. It said it found the device - and displayed "real time" data from the device but didn't download any of the several weeks of historical data. At least I couldn't see any data except a few "real time" points while it was connected.

Then I deleted everything in .../data/ and edited the "Start Date =" parameter in Cumulus.ini to about 3 months ago. I then restarted Cumulus with the fine offset connected. This time it said it found the fine offset device - but never displayed real time data - nor did it appear to download anything.

A few weeks back "SFWS" (I think) posted something saying that "Start date" was not the main problem and that I needed to reset the Timestamp in Today.ini (From memory) - but his post seems to have disappeared. I tried changing the "Timestamp" in Today.ini to a few months back too - but this didn't seem to change anything.

So I am still stuck, and haven't solved the problem. If either of yo have any other suggestions - or can see anything I have done wrong - please let me know. I'm keen to get Cumulus running and get my (~10 years of) historical data imported so I have a good UI for a lot of data. Easyweather can't handle big data sets.

On an earlier question from David... Mine may be a very early Fine Offset device. I've had it for at least 9 years - possibly more - and I think there is something wrong with the "circular buffer". I downloaded the data first time (some 10 years back) - and didn't clear the memory. When I downloaded next time, after the memory filled up, it had kept all the old data and apparently stopped recording when the memory filled up. The recent data was missing. Maybe I've got that wrong - but I don't think so. I haven't ever let it fill up since then. I'm guessing there's a bug in the early software inside my device. If you are sure the circular buffer should work - I can do another controlled test.

As you may have figured out - I am not on site with the station most of the time - and there is no internet at the Weather Station site. I have to go down and collect the data every 2 months or so to prevent it running out of memory. I have read and implemented the Cumulus notes on installing local copies of the HighStock(?) graphics java scripts. I think that all works OK with no local internet.

Thanks for your help...

Richard.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6771
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus connects to Fine Offset, but doesn't read past data.

Post by mcrossley »

On a clean start, you have to create a tody.ini file, and add the entry...
[General]
Timestamp=2020-08-13T23:10:00

Where Timestamp is the date you wish to start. Obviously there will not be 10 years of data in the station logger though.

The FO logger memory is circular, once full it just wraps around and overwrites the oldest value.

Post Reply