Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.0 (build 3064) - 19 February 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Splitting a FO signal

    Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
    Post Reply
    User avatar
    TideMan
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Thu 10 Jun 2010 8:19 am
    Weather Station: Fine Offset
    Operating System: Ubuntu
    Location: Port Levy, Banks Peninsula, NZ

    Splitting a FO signal

    Post by TideMan » Wed 24 Aug 2016 11:45 pm

    I'm converting from Cumulus v1.9.4 on an old (and rickety) Win XP m/c to Cumulus MX on an RPi3.
    What I'd like to do is to run both systems together for a while until I see that the new system works OK, then ditch the old one.
    To do that, I'd need to split the signal from the FO console. Is that possible?

    User avatar
    VTHokie74
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Tue 10 Apr 2012 12:58 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: Rasbian
    Location: Ashland, KY

    Re: Splitting a FO signal

    Post by VTHokie74 » Thu 25 Aug 2016 12:53 am

    I have never heard of splitting a USB device connection between two computers, which is what you are wanting to do. I think once you get your FO station working on the RP3 there would be no reason to go back. I moved my Davis station from a similar old Dell laptop running Windows XP to a RP3 almost two months ago and have had 100% up time other than two power failures at my house. I installed the start stop script so that CMX runs when the RP3 boots now.
    Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2/CumulusMX/Raspberry Pi 3

    User avatar
    TideMan
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Thu 10 Jun 2010 8:19 am
    Weather Station: Fine Offset
    Operating System: Ubuntu
    Location: Port Levy, Banks Peninsula, NZ

    Re: Splitting a FO signal

    Post by TideMan » Thu 25 Aug 2016 2:53 am

    Well, I just tried it using a USB hub, but it didn't work.
    I lack the electronic knowledge to understand why.

    jim-easterbrook
    Posts: 111
    Joined: Thu 09 Jul 2009 10:47 am
    Weather Station: WH1081, Elecsa AstroTouch 6975
    Operating System: openSUSE 13.1, Raspbian, OpenWrt
    Location: Epsom, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Splitting a FO signal

    Post by jim-easterbrook » Thu 25 Aug 2016 7:25 am

    The weather station doesn't passively emit a signal that the computer listens to, it's actively "interrogated" by the computer. Sharing the station (or any other USB device) between two computers would require the computers to cooperate to ensure they didn't both try and talk to it at the same time.
    Jim

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 6001
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Splitting a FO signal

    Post by mcrossley » Thu 25 Aug 2016 8:04 am

    The only way to do this that I know of is to buy a second console. Two consoles will happy receive the transmission from a single transmitter (they are just passive receivers).

    User avatar
    TideMan
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Thu 10 Jun 2010 8:19 am
    Weather Station: Fine Offset
    Operating System: Ubuntu
    Location: Port Levy, Banks Peninsula, NZ

    Re: Splitting a FO signal

    Post by TideMan » Thu 25 Aug 2016 8:07 pm

    jim-easterbrook wrote:The weather station doesn't passively emit a signal that the computer listens to, it's actively "interrogated" by the computer. Sharing the station (or any other USB device) between two computers would require the computers to cooperate to ensure they didn't both try and talk to it at the same time.
    Thanks, Jim. I didn't realise that it was interrogated, rather than broadcasting its information.

    philcdav
    Posts: 244
    Joined: Tue 24 Jun 2008 9:43 pm
    Weather Station: MyDEL WX2008 Mk2 Fine Offset
    Operating System: XP and W7
    Location: Maghull, nr Liverpool, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Splitting a FO signal

    Post by philcdav » Sat 27 Aug 2016 7:30 pm

    Try connecting each USB connection for 12 hours, shutting the 'other' unit down in between.

    Cumulus downloads data from the console and catches up.

    This certainly worked for me when i ran Easy Weather and Cumulus softwares.

    You can't run them together from 1 USB connection but this worked for me.
    Phil - G0DOR

    Post Reply