Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

temperature blip

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
Post Reply
hmc1944
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 19 Oct 2013 7:21 pm
Weather Station: Weatherwise WS1090 solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: st. Petersburg, Florida

temperature blip

Post by hmc1944 » Mon 09 Feb 2015 10:41 pm

Rain and cool today. Temperature been in low 60's and high 50's all day but saw record low temperature recorded at 3;19 pm of minus 38.5 F. When I looked at current temperature 10 minutes later, it was 59.6F. Using Weatherwise ws-1090 solar. Any suggestions what would cause it?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: temperature blip

Post by steve » Tue 10 Feb 2015 7:53 am

With a Fine Offset station, any number of things - interference from various sources, low transmitter batteries, etc etc, see many other threads in the forum. Cumulus provides 'spike removal' settings (on the calibration settings screen) to stop these being logged as they occur.
Steve

hmc1944
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 19 Oct 2013 7:21 pm
Weather Station: Weatherwise WS1090 solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: st. Petersburg, Florida

Re: temperature blip

Post by hmc1944 » Tue 10 Feb 2015 7:44 pm

Replaced the batteries today. Having temperature range of -38F for a low in the afternoon to 135F early evening not good. Today had a low of 6F and a high of 122. Sensor not near electrical lines and 5 feet off ground. Will see what happens next. May invest in another transmitter if issue isn't resolved.

sfws
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: temperature blip

Post by sfws » Tue 10 Feb 2015 9:10 pm

One key point you do not tell us - Does your weather station console show rubbish min/max values ?
The FAQ http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#I_get_ ... h_readings focusses on cases when only Cumulus gets it wrong.

Assuming the console shows wrong figures, and as you have had your station a while, the fault is in the processing in the outdoor unit and this link http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 7&p=100805 might explain the interference.
Last edited by sfws on Sun 15 Feb 2015 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MickinMoulden
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon 20 Dec 2010 12:12 pm
Weather Station: WS-1081 with rain gauge mod
Operating System: Windows 7 & 1.9.3 b1059
Location: Palmerston, NT, Australia
Contact:

Re: temperature blip

Post by MickinMoulden » Sat 14 Feb 2015 11:28 pm

[quote="hmc1944"]Rain and cool today. Any suggestions what would cause it?/quote]
I believe the rain has put moisture on the connectors. This causes errors In temp. If it is really bad it will start to show low or no wind. Check your connectors. Solder new ones on if corroded. If you have extended your cable with couplers, cut them off and Solder. Add shrink tubing. In the calibration setting I have put mine at 0.3c.
Michael, Palmerston, NT Australia www.Palmerston-WeatherImageNo image? I'm offline!
ImageImage

Post Reply