Page 1 of 5

Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 2:57 pm
by mcrossley
Windy.com is a great resource, if you haven't checked it out already, do so!

They now have beta accepting PWS data, once you have registered your station, you should be able to upload data at 5 minute intervals.
https://community.windy.com/topic/8168/ ... ZojuBQpxbI

I haven't had a chance to check this out myself, but in theory you should be able to perform these uploads using Cumulus MX and the custom HTTP call feature.

The API detail is sketchy, so this is a punt, but my reading of the HTTP GETs converted to Cumulus format is...

Code: Select all

Metric C/mm/hPa/ms
https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/XXX-API-KEY-XXX?winddir=<#avgbearing>&wind=<#wspeed>&gust=<#wgust>&temp=<#temp>&precip=<#rhour>&mbar=<#press>&dewpoint=<#dew>2&humidity=<#hum>

Imperial F/in/inHg/mph
https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/XXX-API-KEY-XXX?winddir=<#avgbearing>&windspeedmph=<#wspeed>&windgustmph=<#wgust>&tempf=<#temp>&rainin=<#rhour>&baromin=<#press>&dewptf=<#dew>&humidity=<#hum>

UK C/mm/hPa/mph
https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/XXX-API-KEY-XXX?winddir=<#avgbearing>&windspeedmph=<#wspeed>&windgustmph=<#wgust>&temp=<#temp>&precip=<#rhour>&mbar=<#press>&dewpoint=<#dew>&humidity=<#hum>
If you have a UV sensor, then you can append "&uv=<#UV>" to the end of the URL.

If this API stabilises I'll look at incorporating it into MX at some point.

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 5:06 pm
by PaulMy
Thanks Mark,
I have the API and read the Windy info but not yet understood what/how to do that and if you do incorporate in CumulusMX sometime I'll learn something new again.

Enjoy,
Paul

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 6:36 pm
by mcrossley
Well, it works.
I only just started sending data, so not much to look at yet...
https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06eb ... i:pressure

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 6:38 pm
by mcrossley
I spoke too soon, the temperature and pressure are way out!

Oops, I was sending C as F and hPa as inHg!

Pressure doesn't seem to be working when sending the pressure in hPa :(

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 9:50 pm
by galfert
Why not use the imperial only upload method till they fix the metric upload bug? Its not like you wont be able to see your data on Windy in whatever units you prefer. So whatever happens on the backend via the upload method is invisible....save for maybe some conversion rounding. So at least it should work as a temporary solution.

...unless that is not how Cumulus MX works and it requires to use whatever units the station is configured to use?

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 9:57 pm
by mcrossley
galfert wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 9:50 pm ...unless that is not how Cumulus MX works and it requires to use whatever units the station is configured to use?
Bingo! Unfortunately the current version 3 of MX can only use tags with the user selected logging units. That will change in v4.

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 11:28 pm
by Mapantz
PaulMy wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 5:06 pm Thanks Mark,
I have the API and read the Windy info but not yet understood what/how to do that and if you do incorporate in CumulusMX sometime I'll learn something new again.

Enjoy,
Paul
Don't quote me on it, but I think you send it via a custom HTTP call for X minutes. It's in the internet settings of CMX.

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2019 11:41 pm
by Mapantz
For some reason I cannot add a station. I fill everything in and click 'save' and it does absolutely nothing.

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Wed 17 Apr 2019 12:38 am
by jlmr731
Mapantz wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 11:41 pm For some reason I cannot add a station. I fill everything in and click 'save' and it does absolutely nothing.
I just added mine, I first registered then the link to add station in the url mark gave filled info and worked for me.

and paul the custom http as Mapantz said and use what mark had in first post and changing the api key the webtags should do the rest

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Wed 17 Apr 2019 12:51 am
by Mapantz
jlmr731 wrote: Wed 17 Apr 2019 12:38 am I just added mine, I first registered then the link to add station in the url mark gave filled info and worked for me.
Got it working now. I spotted a post regarding a bug, but they said how to get around it. :)

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Wed 17 Apr 2019 7:12 am
by BeaumarisWX
Hi even though I'm still not public, property not sold yet and not moved to new location until we sell.
Thought I'd try it out and although I use wind kph (had to upload as mph as suggested in earlier post. Also Pressure is still incorrect.
Also added UV but although windy states it's valid element to upload it is not available on their display.

https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f0733 ... i:pressure

Kind regards,

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Wed 17 Apr 2019 9:24 am
by kocher
Greetings to all

Despite having read this thread many times, I do not quite understand how cumulusMX processes the tags of the URL to send to Windy:

https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06eb ... i:pressure

This is correct?:

Code: Select all

2&humidity=<#hum>
I'm sure it's very simple, but I do not quite understand it :roll:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Wed 17 Apr 2019 8:18 pm
by atb
As indicated in the earlier instruction, I have made use of the Custom HTTP call - minutes, in Settings | Internet Settings in order to update the Windy PWS every 5mins. It seems to work fine, except the problem of the Pressure (Windy wants Pa, Cumulus provides hPa). PWS is using RasPi, Cumulus 3.0.0 (not yet updated to latest build!). Either Windy needs to accept hPa, or Cumulus could be modified - in the meantime I've removed the Pressure item.
https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f07b2 ... 30,1.313,8,

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Thu 18 Apr 2019 2:42 pm
by f4phlyer
I've been watching "Windy" for awhile, great site, great presentation and now Mark nailed the api. Cut and pasted last night and it's running fine https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06ea ... ,-95.534,8

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Posted: Fri 19 Apr 2019 12:15 am
by BeaumarisWX
Hi Steve,
Well done, I see that your site is displaying Pressure Correctly in hPa.
I'm curious as to why yours is correct, would you be able to share your custom HTTP call.
Kind regards

p.s. My setup is slightly different again in that my wind speed is kph, (so does not display correctly) and pressure in hPa (also incorrect)

Code: Select all

Metric C/mm/hPa/kph(km/h)