Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.7.0 (build 3089) - 28 July 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items). Software

Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
User avatar
jpsc
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue 23 Aug 2011 6:06 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue, belfryboy USB
Operating System: Raspbian Jessie
Location: Wye valley, Herefordshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by jpsc »

Ah, interval 5mins (my findu upload freq), delay 9mins. I think I can live with that.
John Cooper

Cumulus MX on RPi3 with SSD

http://weather.mountpleasanthouse.uk

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6744
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by mcrossley »

Post #1 updated with the new mbar/hPa upload option available from Windy.

Mapantz
Posts: 765
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by Mapantz »

Thanks Mark. Top work!
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6744
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by mcrossley »

B3049 is now available that offers Windy upload as a built-in function. It will also optionally do catch-up on Cumulus MX start-up.

hvd51
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri 13 Jul 2012 5:05 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 +
Operating System: Windows 10 Ultimate
Location: 't Zandt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by hvd51 »


User avatar
andrew_sinclair
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu 04 Nov 2010 8:15 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus c/w DFARS
Operating System: Raspbian on a Raspberry Pi 3
Location: Cheddar, Somerset

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by andrew_sinclair »

Hello

I am struggling to add the API call to CumulusMX to upload to windy.com

I have registered and copied the key the added the following to HTTP URL box under settings with an interval of 10 minutes and ticked the enable box but when I save it a box pops up saying "localhost:8998 says error [oject Object]"

https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/ <added my api here>?winddir=<#avgbearing>&windspeedmph=<#wspeed>&windgustmph=<#wgust>&tempf=<#temp>&rainin=<#rhour>&baromin=<#press>&dewptf=<#dew>&humidity=<#hum>&uv=<#UV>

Build 3088 Running on a Raspberry Pi 3B

Any help gratefully received! :D

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by HansR »

andrew_sinclair wrote:
Tue 14 Jul 2020 9:10 pm
Hello

I am struggling to add the API call to CumulusMX to upload to windy.com

I have registered and copied the key the added the following to HTTP URL box under settings with an interval of 10 minutes and ticked the enable box but when I save it a box pops up saying "localhost:8998 says error [oject Object]"

https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/ <added my api here>?winddir=<#avgbearing>&windspeedmph=<#wspeed>&windgustmph=<#wgust>&tempf=<#temp>&rainin=<#rhour>&baromin=<#press>&dewptf=<#dew>&humidity=<#hum>&uv=<#UV>

Build 3088 Running on a Raspberry Pi 3B

Any help gratefully received! :D
Just fill in your API-key. It's not asking for all those fields, CMX creates the rest.
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

User avatar
andrew_sinclair
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu 04 Nov 2010 8:15 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus c/w DFARS
Operating System: Raspbian on a Raspberry Pi 3
Location: Cheddar, Somerset

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by andrew_sinclair »

Thanks for the post HansR, tried that but to no avail. Somehow I am missing something obvious but not sure what. I'll keep fiddling around :-)
Last edited by andrew_sinclair on Wed 15 Jul 2020 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6744
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by mcrossley »

andrew_sinclair wrote:
Tue 14 Jul 2020 9:10 pm
... but when I save it a box pops up saying "localhost:8998 says error [oject Object]"
It sounds like you may not have fully updated MX. Did you copy all the files out of the zip file when you last updated?
Last edited by mcrossley on Wed 15 Jul 2020 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrew_sinclair
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu 04 Nov 2010 8:15 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus c/w DFARS
Operating System: Raspbian on a Raspberry Pi 3
Location: Cheddar, Somerset

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by andrew_sinclair »

Hmmm, that's a god point. It is installed on a Raspberry Pi and was a fresh installation so I used the
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mono-complete
Commands. However, I am not 100% sure I did use the mono-complete element. I'll try that and report back.

I appreciate your assistance.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6744
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by mcrossley »

The error you are seeing is normally because the MX interface files are out of date with the MX program. It can also be caused by stale files for the interface in your browser cache - try clearing that.

User avatar
andrew_sinclair
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu 04 Nov 2010 8:15 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus c/w DFARS
Operating System: Raspbian on a Raspberry Pi 3
Location: Cheddar, Somerset

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by andrew_sinclair »

I reinstalled from scratch making sure the mono-complete was installed and same result. :groan: More tinkering needed...

Phil23
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by Phil23 »

Hmm,

Enabled Windy yesterday & it's been uploading for about 24 hours.

Still no Icon on the map, but this morning when I bring it up with

https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f0615 ... i:pressure

It show duplicate station in the bottom right,

https://www.windy.com/station/madis-F00 ... i:pressure

That is my station, but the data is uploaded to APRS/CWOP.

Anyone know the implications of this?

Either way their seems to be no station Icon on the map.

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu / Windows 10
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by ConligWX »

Phil23 wrote:
Wed 15 Jul 2020 10:07 pm

Anyone know the implications of this?

Either way their seems to be no station Icon on the map.
Hi there.

Windy grabs CWOP data and injects it into the maps. if your sending to CWOP, then you dont need to feed windy a second time via CumulusMX as well. as to icons, email windy or post on their forums. https://community.windy.com/
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
• Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus + DFARS • WeatherLink Live • CumulusMX • Saratoga Templates •

User avatar
galfert
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue 03 May 2016 2:57 pm
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2000
Operating System: Linux Mint or Raspbian
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Windy.com now accepting PWS data

Post by galfert »

There is an advantage to uploading to Windy directly even if you already upload to CWOP. If you upload directly to Windy then your data is less delayed and more recent and more frequent. Rain data is more complete (full curves as opposed to bars) with direct reporting also. It doesn't matter that it detects your CWOP as a duplicate station. You can reference either one.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Tele-Pole flag pole

Post Reply