Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Site going down.

Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
RayProudfoot
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by RayProudfoot » Mon 29 Oct 2018 7:14 pm

dc1500 wrote:Hi Ray, that provider looks pretty good compared to what I've seen so far. Did you go for the starter at £24?
Dave
Hi Dave, yes I did. If you have a standard Cumulus1 setup your requirements are tiny. Support is great. They sorted out a PHP problem in a few minutes.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

archae86
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 21 May 2011 4:46 pm
Weather Station: Davis Wireless Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Re: stumbles in changing hosting

Post by archae86 » Mon 29 Oct 2018 7:40 pm

archae86 wrote:My remaining problem is that some non weather related files I've moved onto the new server don't show up to a browser the way they did on Steve's. I suspect this is some site configuration option, possibly related to the lack of an index.* file in the directories of interest.
I learned that different server conventions are out there. On Steve's server, a user entering a URL pointing to an extra directory to which you had FTP'd files would see a sort of file directory in their browser. At A2 hosting, they get a message essentially saying "Sorry, Dave, I can't let you see that". I edited up an index.html file specific to the directory in question, including a local reference link to the file I wanted to make available. So my immediate problem is solved, and as it has nothing to do with Cumulus, I'll not write more on the matter here.

With a day of A2 hosting serving my web site, I'll say that the trends page reliably displays more quickly and consistently than served by Steve. This might just be the matter of getting data from the next state, rather than the other side of the Atlantic (ping times came down from 200 msec to 45 msec), or maybe the server really does serve more uniformly and faster. But as most people who view my site are over here, it should be a bit of an improvement for them, or at least for the very few who ever look past the first page.
My cumulus generated weather site is at http://pastoll.info/weather

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: stumbles in changing hosting

Post by Mapantz » Mon 29 Oct 2018 8:10 pm

archae86 wrote:My remaining problem is that some non weather related files I've moved onto the new server don't show up to a browser the way they did on Steve's. I suspect this is some site configuration option, possibly related to the lack of an index.* file in the directories of interest.
I learned that different server conventions are out there. On Steve's server, a user entering a URL pointing to an extra directory to which you had FTP'd files would see a sort of file directory in their browser. At A2 hosting, they get a message essentially saying "Sorry, Dave, I can't let you see that". I edited up an index.html file specific to the directory in question, including a local reference link to the file I wanted to make available.
I think you mean indexing? That can be turned on or off for any directory on your site with the click of a button in cpanel.

Speed wise - you're probably hosted on an SSD? I don't know if Steve's was or not? I couldn't go back now, it makes things much easier when moving files or big folders around on the host as well as speeding up a website due to the increase in read/write speeds.
Image
Image

archae86
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 21 May 2011 4:46 pm
Weather Station: Davis Wireless Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Re: stumbles in changing hosting

Post by archae86 » Mon 29 Oct 2018 8:25 pm

Mapantz wrote:
archae86 wrote:I think you mean indexing? That can be turned on or off for any directory on your site with the click of a button in cpanel.
Right you are. File Manager|select the directory of interest|right-click|manage indices. I get a radio button choice of four possibilities, for which "standard indexing" makes it much more like Steve.

I'll use that selectively. I never saw cpanel until yesterday, and initially found nothing of use. You've added to my list.
Thanks
My cumulus generated weather site is at http://pastoll.info/weather

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: stumbles in changing hosting

Post by Mapantz » Mon 29 Oct 2018 9:20 pm

archae86 wrote:
I'll use that selectively. I never saw cpanel until yesterday, and initially found nothing of use. You've added to my list.
Thanks
Great stuff!

Cpanel is great, lots of hidden goodies. Do you have Cloudflare in there too? That can be very handy to set up for your site!

Don't forget,f you're using SQL, be sure to add your IP to the remote SQL to the list, so you can easily send your data from third party apps/Cumulus MX. :)
Image
Image

dc1500
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu 04 Sep 2008 8:35 am
Weather Station: Watson W-8681 (Fine Offset type)
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Laindon, S. Essex
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by dc1500 » Tue 30 Oct 2018 12:54 am

RayProudfoot wrote:
dc1500 wrote:Hi Ray, that provider looks pretty good compared to what I've seen so far. Did you go for the starter at £24?
Dave
Hi Dave, yes I did. If you have a standard Cumulus1 setup your requirements are tiny. Support is great. They sorted out a PHP problem in a few minutes.
Thanks Ray. I'm okay because my brother's server hosts mine but I have accumulated 3 or 4 "Cumulus" friends over the years and they are not all up to speed with this sort of thing so I help them out with it. Only two are directly affected by this but I will recommend hostpresto to them. Thanks for finding that one, the bigger ones I looked at seem to have a very muddy pricing policy.
Dave
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by RayProudfoot » Tue 30 Oct 2018 8:48 am

dc1500 wrote:
RayProudfoot wrote:Thanks Ray. I'm okay because my brother's server hosts mine but I have accumulated 3 or 4 "Cumulus" friends over the years and they are not all up to speed with this sort of thing so I help them out with it. Only two are directly affected by this but I will recommend hostpresto to them. Thanks for finding that one, the bigger ones I looked at seem to have a very muddy pricing policy.
Dave
What put me off A2 Hosting was all the extra they pushed on their website. Do I really need to pay for their backups when HostPresto do it as part of the service? Hmmm. And if you look at TrustPilot virtually everyone is giving them 5 stars and I'll do the same.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by Mapantz » Tue 30 Oct 2018 12:07 pm

RayProudfoot wrote: What put me off A2 Hosting was all the extra they pushed on their website. Do I really need to pay for their backups when HostPresto do it as part of the service? Hmmm.
I don't pay for backup service, you still get them free by default as part of cpanel. The extra charge is for automatic backups - useful if you're running a big forum or something similar. I usually perform a manual backup once a month just in case something happens, but I do have quite a few sql databases as well. It is worth doing one, because on an old host, Websound, they had a catastrophic RAID failure and everyone's files/sites were lost and they only had old backups, so after the two days it took for them to fix the issues, the backup they installed for me was missing a lot of data, but thankfully I had new backup which took a matter of minutes to restore.
Image
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by RayProudfoot » Tue 30 Oct 2018 5:22 pm

Mapantz, They didn’t make that clear when I visited their site the other week. I just found it incredibly off-putting to see a relatively attractive headline price suddenly escalate with all the addons that we’re selected by default.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

dc1500
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu 04 Sep 2008 8:35 am
Weather Station: Watson W-8681 (Fine Offset type)
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Laindon, S. Essex
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by dc1500 » Tue 30 Oct 2018 11:31 pm

I don't pay for backup service, you still get them free by default as part of cpanel. The extra charge is for automatic backups - useful if you're running a big forum or something similar. I usually perform a manual backup once a month just in case something happens, but I do have quite a few sql databases as well. It is worth doing one, because on an old host, Websound, they had a catastrophic RAID failure and everyone's files/sites were lost and they only had old backups, so after the two days it took for them to fix the issues, the backup they installed for me was missing a lot of data, but thankfully I had new backup which took a matter of minutes to restore.[/quote]

Brilliant website. Probably the best Cumulus based one I've seen. 8-)
Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by saratogaWX » Wed 31 Oct 2018 5:20 pm

With Steve's permission, a new copy of the current Cumulus Wiki has been established (with content cloned as-of 26-Oct-2018) at

https://cumuluswiki.wxforum.net/

The MediaWiki software was upgraded to 1.31.1 version from 1.26.1. If you had an ID on the current Wiki, it should exist with your same credentials on the new Wiki.

Thanks to Steve for letting me host a durable home for the Cumulus Wiki.

Best regards,
Ken
(admin for wxforum.net)

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 31 Oct 2018 5:53 pm

Well done Ken. Too much valuable info there for it to be lost.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

dc1500
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu 04 Sep 2008 8:35 am
Weather Station: Watson W-8681 (Fine Offset type)
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Laindon, S. Essex
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by dc1500 » Wed 07 Nov 2018 11:44 pm

Thumbs up for Hostpresto. Transfered a site across easily. Thanks for the heads up Ray. :)
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 07 Nov 2018 11:54 pm

Glad you’re sorted. If anyone else wants to join HostPresto can you PM me first as they’ll give me a couple of months free hosting for signing others up.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

M1DUL
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed 31 Dec 2008 1:56 pm
Weather Station: W-8681 Solar Weather Station
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64bit Build 10586
Location: Poole, Dorset UK
Contact:

Re: Site going down.

Post by M1DUL » Sun 11 Nov 2018 11:45 am

Another thumbs up for Hostpresto. I have Transfered my site across easily. Thanks for the heads up Ray.

Post Reply