Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.1.2 build 3055 - 4 November 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
Post Reply
RayProudfoot
Posts: 2707
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by RayProudfoot » Thu 23 Jun 2016 6:04 pm

I have a link to the Met Office's WOW site customised for my station but today it's stopped working.

If I load the standard webpage - http://wow.metoffice.gov.uk/ and zoom in there is no sign of my station or that of Mark Crossley's in Wilmslow.

Anyone any idea what's going on?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by steve » Thu 23 Jun 2016 6:37 pm

There seem to be very few stations on that map. I wonder if they have changed something and now Cumulus uploads are no longer accepted? I still seem to be getting "OK" back from my uploads, though.
Steve

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2707
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by RayProudfoot » Thu 23 Jun 2016 7:12 pm

There is an option in the drop down to the right that shows private stations. Mine and Mark's shows then but only as a blue dot. Clicking it generates an error.

Wouldn't you think they might have made an announcement or written to registered owners. Maybe it will sort itself out in 24 hours.

Do you have a contact you can ask?

LATER: I've submitted feedback asking what's going on with Cumulus auto uploads. I'll post any reply here.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by steve » Thu 23 Jun 2016 7:54 pm

OK, thanks Ray.
Steve

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2707
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by RayProudfoot » Thu 23 Jun 2016 9:34 pm

Looking at their Facebook page people are also complaining they cannot submit manual readings so we're not alone.

No response from the Met Office yet, hopefully tomorrow.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

Graham64
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon 23 Aug 2010 5:04 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Cornwall, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by Graham64 » Thu 23 Jun 2016 9:46 pm

Ray
Very strange - mine and some other local stations are displayed when I zoom into the WOW map. Mine comes up as an orange dot, without having to change any filter, and the readings are up to date.
However if I select the Registered site option, several other local sites appear on the map with blue dots.

PS I think the WOW site is now much easier to use.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2707
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by RayProudfoot » Thu 23 Jun 2016 10:17 pm

Hi Graham,

Mine is one of the blue dots and is missing data despite me uploading it.

The Met Office have dropped a real clanger by not notifying us of proposed changes.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5734
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by mcrossley » Thu 23 Jun 2016 10:57 pm

I can't log in to the site either, I just get an error.

water01
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by water01 » Thu 23 Jun 2016 10:59 pm

If I click on WOW Schools mine comes up. Wasn't aware I was a school :D :D :D

Think someone has dropped a b*****k!!

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by ConligWX » Thu 23 Jun 2016 11:25 pm

Mine is there, but others i know who upload to WOW are not there. Maybe its dependant on how you voted yesterday ;)
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus + DFARS - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga Templates

Graham64
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon 23 Aug 2010 5:04 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Cornwall, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by Graham64 » Fri 24 Jun 2016 12:59 am

Hi Simon
I think you have the answer - the BBC are using blue for leave and yellow (almost orange) for remain for the results show, and the WOW site is doing the same!

tassyjim
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri 09 Jan 2015 2:48 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit
Location: Tasmania

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by tassyjim » Fri 24 Jun 2016 8:12 am

My local Australian BOM sites are also reduced to a non-functioning blue dot.
There are a couple of lonely sites partially functioning but that's all.

Jim

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2707
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by RayProudfoot » Fri 24 Jun 2016 10:47 am

I've had an acknowledgement to my email. Probably automated. Hopefully more later.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5734
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by mcrossley » Fri 24 Jun 2016 12:56 pm

They have contacted me about the inability to log in to WOW - the OATH 'allow' fails with a server error 500.

I notice that lots of the stations that are orange, don't have data other than current readings when you go to their web pages.

All in all a bit of a disaster!

prodata
Posts: 209
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Post by prodata » Fri 24 Jun 2016 7:42 pm

Does this help at all:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... p5OfL_dHlo ?

(at least as a public explanation if not a fix)
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk

Post Reply