Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Need website advice for Cumulus for absolute beginner

Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
RayProudfoot
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Need website advice for Cumulus for absolute beginner

Post by RayProudfoot »

Hi all,

I've had my Davis VP2 since late April and have been uploading data to Weather Underground via WeatherLink. I also run Cumulus on the same netbook. Both run via VirtualVP. I have no website and would like to create one but have no idea how to get started.

I'm reasonably computer-savvy but web design is something I've never looked at. I dabbled with the idea of using free web space provided by my ISP (Yahoo via BT) but the downside seems to be having to accept adverts which I'd rather avoid. So buying a domain name and paying a sub for my site seems a better alternative but I'd appreciate your views.

My other issue is what HAS to be performed on the PC uploading the data to the internet and what I can do on other PCs on my home network. I use a Samsung NC10 netbook to upload to WU and this is left on 24/7. But it only has a 10" screen with a res of 1024*600 so isn't ideal for designing web pages. Also, the Rapid Fire DLL is quite intrusive on the screen so I want to keep any work on the NC10 to an absolute minimum.