Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.0 (build 3064) - 19 February 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
    mikkimii
    Posts: 42
    Joined: Fri 23 Mar 2012 3:17 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Pro
    Location: Vilppula, Finland

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by mikkimii » Fri 21 Jun 2013 8:08 pm

    I have been running Cumulus since January 17, 2012, 521 days. I set up my Davis VP2 in December 2011.
    Br,
    Mika
    Image

    User avatar
    ARootBear
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Sun 25 Nov 2012 4:04 pm
    Weather Station: Vantage Pro2
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Location: Newfoundland Canada
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by ARootBear » Sat 22 Jun 2013 9:52 pm

    My cumulus records date way wayyyy back to... November 23rd, 2012 :roll:
    That was the day I received my datalogger in the mail, been working great for me ever since.
    Bishop's Cove, Newfoundland, Canada. http://bishopscoveweather.tripod.com

    User avatar
    tomcatuk
    Posts: 320
    Joined: Fri 26 Dec 2008 4:41 pm
    Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
    Operating System: Windows 10 v1809
    Location: Buckingham

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by tomcatuk » Sun 23 Jun 2013 7:15 am

    #DaysSinceRecordsBegan 1269 days for me, though I did start a year earlier with an older station which gave up on me and started again in January 1st 2010 with the Vue and clean slate and is still running ok.
    Regards Steve

    bigmac
    Posts: 161
    Joined: Wed 13 May 2009 9:35 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Wireless
    Operating System: Raspbian wheezy
    Location: Nr Ilkley, West Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by bigmac » Sun 23 Jun 2013 8:21 am

    I'm a relative newcomer as well. Basically started as soon as support for the Oregon's was available so I started on 11th June 2011 so just completed 2 years worth of data collection.

    DaveNZ
    Posts: 373
    Joined: Mon 07 Dec 2009 10:27 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
    Location: Howick, Auckland, New Zealand
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by DaveNZ » Sun 23 Jun 2013 9:23 am

    I started 7th December 2009. Excellent software.

    User avatar
    JennyLeez
    Posts: 266
    Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2009 2:32 am
    Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
    Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
    Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by JennyLeez » Sun 23 Jun 2013 9:30 am

    Today is day 1300. Began 1st December 2009.

    Since then Cumulus has been a total time consumer....lol
    In other words I should be working and I am not, I am playing with any enhancements members write and every upgraded/added webtag Steve creates :)

    Many thanks to Steve and those in this forum whose work I use and to those who have helped me :)

    Cheers
    Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
    http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
    Cumulus Topsites:
    http://cumulussites.net/
    Image

    User avatar
    gluepack
    Posts: 460
    Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
    Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
    Operating System: Win 7 Pro
    Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by gluepack » Sun 23 Jun 2013 10:25 am

    Five months tomorrow, or 151 days.

    I had been submitting webcam images to Weather Underground for quite a while before I bought my pws and, on installing it, I chose Cumulus over the software that came with it based on recommendations (well, they would on this forum, I guess, lol).

    It made me think about updating an existing website that I had already converted from free to fee but hadn't paid too much attention to and I added a (sub-)set of pages based on Saratoga templates (once I figured out that I needed to use 3rd party software to FTP the Cumulus files). It seems to be never-ending though, adding and modifying and I still have a lot to do with the original website content.

    What I like to see is, not necessarily the data presented at those services that I submit too directly (well, via Cumulus) but the fact that it is picked up and used by other services, e.g. http://www.windalert.com
    Image

    PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
    Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by steve » Sun 23 Jun 2013 10:38 am

    gluepack wrote:What I like to see is, not necessarily the data presented at those services that I submit too directly (well, via Cumulus) but the fact that it is picked up and used by other services, e.g. http://www.windalert.com
    It's interesting that you say that. Some people apparently feel exactly the opposite, and don't like it that places like CWOP and WU sell the uploaded data to other commercial organisations like Windalert. I believe some people even stopped uploading to CWOP and/or WU as a result.
    Steve

    User avatar
    gluepack
    Posts: 460
    Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
    Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
    Operating System: Win 7 Pro
    Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by gluepack » Sun 23 Jun 2013 2:46 pm

    Wow, it takes all sorts.

    Surely, the whole point is to improve weather forecasting. The more that data is used, integrated, massaged and interpreted the better, I would have thought.

    It is not that I am losing anything financially by windalert ( I mention them as I specified them on my last post) using the data and, in return, I get from them an exceptional set of graphics that I can incorporate into what otherwise would be a lacklustre set of Saratoga templates (never mind that it doesn't matter much which way the wind blows or how strongly in our part of the world for wind-oriented sports).
    Image

    PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
    Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

    User avatar
    meteotortosa
    Posts: 323
    Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008 12:15 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Tortosa-Baix Ebre- Catalonia
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by meteotortosa » Sun 23 Jun 2013 3:05 pm

    I use Cumulus from 1st January of 2009
    Weather in Tortosa (NE Spain), updated every 15'
    Image Image

    TgT
    Posts: 127
    Joined: Thu 26 Jun 2008 5:51 am
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
    Operating System: A20 TV box + CumulusMX
    Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by TgT » Sat 29 Jun 2013 11:57 pm

    September 19th 2008 :geek:
    Image

    brookr
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Sun 30 Jun 2013 7:41 am
    Weather Station: Vanatge Pro2
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Location: Farsley Near Leeds

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by brookr » Sun 30 Jun 2013 7:52 pm

    :?: :?: Hi
    Been running it continuosly since 0900 this morning! So what do i need to do to get myself recognised onthe web. Has anyone got t he Davis VP2 that could lend me hand.
    I'm a novice with technical things. Please inform what I need to do to start off?
    Many thanks
    Rob

    Touchtone
    Posts: 93
    Joined: Tue 09 Apr 2013 11:36 am
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus & FARS
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1
    Location: Gin Gin, Qld, Australia

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by Touchtone » Sun 30 Jun 2013 9:59 pm

    brookr wrote::?: :?: Hi
    Been running it continuosly since 0900 this morning! So what do i need to do to get myself recognised onthe web. Has anyone got t he Davis VP2 that could lend me hand.
    I'm a novice with technical things. Please inform what I need to do to start off?
    Many thanks
    Rob
    Welcome Rob. I have a Davis VP2+ & I would prepared to help you, so just ask what you need to know & I will try & help you. I am not knowledgeable on web matters, but on the actual Davis station I have learnt a lot.
    Bligh.

    brookr
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Sun 30 Jun 2013 7:41 am
    Weather Station: Vanatge Pro2
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Location: Farsley Near Leeds

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by brookr » Mon 01 Jul 2013 8:15 am

    hi
    it was the web stuff I was really interested in - the Davis VP2 system is brilliant. Had this 7 years, its the Vp2 plus solar and before that I had the weather Monitor.
    Thank you very much anyway for taking interest. I'm trying to get my data on ;) the web via Cumulus. 8-)

    water01
    Posts: 1592
    Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
    Location: Burnham-on-Sea
    Contact:

    Re: How long have you been running Cumulus?

    Post by water01 » Mon 01 Jul 2013 9:04 am

    Well the first steps are to get yourself a domain name and a hosting company.
    The domain name can usually be bought at the same time as you buy the hosting service and is usually something like www.farsleyweather.co.uk (if it is available i.e. nobody else is using the name).
    The hosting service is the web based company who has server space you can buy space from in order to host your web site.
    David
    Image

    Post Reply